Review – Critique : The Mortal Instruments 2

Image

Here it is, my second review! I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

You should read the first book or the first review before reading this review.

Vous devriez lire le tome 1 ou ma critique du tome 1 avant de lire cette critique.

English

Book description: Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

(Sorry for this long description, but that’s what is written on the book.)

So, what did I think about this book?

First of all, I would like to say that I preferred this one to the first book. And I’ve found in The Mortal Instruments what I love about series: time to get to know the characters, to see them grow, to love them or not. Clary seems to be more mature since the beginning of the history, and Cassandra Clare worked a lot more on Simon. He’s less useless in the story and so much more interesting. I really love that character now that I’ve finished the second book and when I had finished the first book, I felt like Simon was just an element of the set and not an actual character. There’s a good plot, the novel is well structured and better written. I love how the author creates a new world, I can’t wait to finally see them go to Idris, and know more about the country of the Shadowhunters. I think that everything about the Shadowhunters is pretty original even if I can still see some elements of other stories. And there’s something I absolutely love, it’s the ability Cassandra Clare has to make me laugh, not with the story (it’s not a comedy, obviously) but with her dialogues. Especially with Simon and Jace, I’m laughing almost every time they talk.

“Oooh, that was fun.”

“That does it,” said Jace. “I’m going to get you a dictionary for Christmas this year.”

“Why?” Isabelle said.

“So you can look up ‘fun.’ I’m not sure you know what it means.”

Still not Harry Potter or Hunger Games, but a nice book. I loved it. I really want to read the other books and to know what happens to the characters. I begin to care about them. There was great fight at the end of the book, very well written and full of action. The only thing that’s missing is an incredible thing at the end of the book. I mean, when I finished it, I went to bed, I wasn’t like “oh my god, I can’t sleep, I absolutely have to begin the next one, RIGHT NOW”. And as a fan of suspense, I think every book that has another book following, needs to end up with something big, that makes you want to open the next one. Of course, I want to read the next book because I love the story, but not because I have the unbearable need to know what’s happening next.

If you liked the first book of the Mortal Instruments, you should love it. If you didn’t like the first one, I don’t think you should bother reading the second book.

“I don’t want to be a man,” said Jace. “I want to be an angst-ridden teenager who can’t confront his own inner demons and takes it out verbally on other people instead.”

“Well,” said Luke, “you’re doing a fantastic job.”

And one last thing [spoiler] please highlight the text below if you want to read it: [Am I the only one upset by this relationship between Clary and Jace? I think it’s gross. Come on, they’re brother and sister! Why would they want to date? It was okay in the first book and it was tragic when they found out they were brother and sister, but Cassandra Clare should have stopped their love story at this moment. Right now, I just think it’s twisted. Maybe you don’t have a brother, but I do. And I must say, ew!]

Pages: 453

Price: $7.34. You can buy it here.

Rating : 4 out of 5 stars.

Français

Résumé : Le Monde Obscur est en émoi depuis le meurtre mystérieux d’un loup garou survenu devant le Hunter’s Moon. Du côté des Chasseurs d’Ombres, Valentin est de retour et une guerre sanglante se prépare. Pris dans la tourmente des événements, Clary et Jace se lancent à corps perdu dans la lutte sans merci qui oppose les défenseurs du bien aux forces du mal. Un combat qui les mènera des souterrains de la Cité Silencieuse aux eaux sombres de l’East River…

Le livre s’appelle désormais officiellement The Mortal Instruments, Tome 2 : La Cité des cendres et non plus la Cité des Ténèbres.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Tout d’abord, j’aimerais dire que j’ai préféré ce tome au premier. Et j’ai trouvé dans The mortal Instruments ce que j’aime dans les sagas : l’opportunité de mieux connaitre les personnages, de les voir évoluer, et apprendre à les aimer ou pas. Clary me semble être plus mature depuis le début de l’histoire, et Cassandra Clare a d’avantage travaillé le personnage de Simon. Il est moins inutile à l’histoire et beaucoup plus intéressant. J’adore ce personnage maintenant que j’ai terminé le deuxième livre alors que quand j’avais terminé le premier livre, j’avais l’impression que Simon était tout simplement un élément du décor et non pas un véritable personnage. Il y a une bonne intrigue, le roman est bien structuré et mieux écrit que le premier. J’aime la façon dont l’auteur crée un monde nouveau, je ne peux plus attendre d’enfin les voir arriver à Idris et d’en savoir plus sur le pays des Chasseurs d’Ombre. Je trouve que toute cette histoire de Chasseurs d’Ombre, c’est plutôt original même si je trouve encore des éléments d’autres histoires. Et il y a quelque chose que j’adore, c’est le don qu’a Cassandra Clare pour me faire rire, pas avec son histoire (ce n’est pas une comédie, bien évidemment) mais avec ses dialogues. Particulièrement avec Simon et Jace, je ris pratiquement à chaque fois qu’ils parlent.

Loin d’être aussi bien qu’Harry Potter ou que les Hunger Games, mais c’est quand même un bon livre. J’ai beaucoup aimé. J’ai vraiment envie de lire la suite et de savoir ce qui va arriver aux personnages. Je commence à m’y attacher. Une grande bataille à la fin du livre, très bien écrite, et pleine d’action. La seule chose qui me manque, c’est une fin surprenante. Je veux dire, quand je l’ai terminé, je me suis couchée, je ne me disais pas “Oh mon Dieu, je ne peux pas dormir, je dois absolument commencer le prochain livre, TOUT DE SUITE”. Et en tant que fan de suspense, je crois que chaque livre qui a une suite doit se terminer sur quelque chose de gros, qui te donne envie d’ouvrir le prochain. Bien entendu, j’ai envie de lire le prochain livre parce que j’ai aimé l’histoire, mais pas à cause d’un besoin insoutenable de savoir ce qui va se passer.

Si vous avez aimé le premier livre, vous devriez aimer celui-ci. En revanche, si vous n’avez pas aimé le premier tome, ce n’est pas la peine de continuer.

Et une dernière chose [élément de l’intrigue], surlignez le texte pour le voir apparaître si vous voulez le lire : [Suis-je la seule à être dérangée par la relation qu’ont Clary et Jace ? Je trouve ça dégoûtant. Enfin, ils sont frères et sœurs ! Pourquoi est-ce qu’ils voudraient bien sortir ensemble ? Ça passait dans le premier livre, et j’ai trouvé ça tragique quand ils ont découvert qu’ils étaient frère et sœur, mais Cassandra Clare aurait dû arrêter leur histoire d’amour à ce moment. Pour l’instant, je trouve juste ça tordu. Peut-être que vous n’avez pas de frère, mais j’en ai un. Et j’ai envie de dire, beurk!]

Pages : 528

Prix : 17,24 €. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note : 16,5/20

Encore une fois, je vous encourage vivement à le lire en version originale.

Bonne lecture !

Enjoy the book !

Leave a Reply

