Review – Critique: How to make a bird

Sans titre

I tought the new cover was so much prettier so I put both, the one that I own and the new cover.

three and a half stars

ENGLISH

How to Make a Bird

Book description: It’s dawn, on an empty road in the countryside. Empty, except for the girl in the long, red evening gown, standing next to a bicycle, and looking back at the home she’s about to leave. Mannie’s ready to start a new life and forget the terrible things that have happened here, but there are questions that need to be answered before she can let go. Questions about her elegant but unstable mother, her brother who’s always overshadowed her, and his friend Harry Jacob, who just might be Mannie’s boyfriend . . .

So, what did I think about this book?

This is a truly beautiful but tragic story. I loved the writing, it reminded me of poetry, the words chosen are beautiful and the sentences are beautiful and philosophical. I wanted to quote everything to be honest. I didn’t especially like Manon Clarkeson, but I felt really sorry for her.

It is a thing to read a book about poverty in the Middle Ages, but you do not really realize what it is. However, when you read about a girl who doesn’t have the money to take a lunch box and eat at the high school, who only owns one pair of shoes because it would be a loss of money to have a pair of shoes for winter and another for summer, who has a hole in her bedroom that she shares with her brother and is always cold, you feel really bad, and sorry. And when you see the way her mother treats her, it doesn’t help.

The book starts when she runs away from her house to go to Melbourne, hoping to get to Paris. The story is not actually long, it only lasts two little days, but it is full of her memories, her aching and her desire to find out who she really is. I loved the way I could feel the protagonist’s emotions. The problem I had with her memories was that they were full of so many characters. I got really confused. But I quickly understood that these characters were not really important. There are just a few characters who are really important to the story. I enjoyed the fact that the story was not told in a chronological way but told by little pieces who revealed the whole story in the end. So many themes are explored, such as loss and family breakdown, first love and aching. I cried so many times reading the book. I was surprised by the fact it won so many children’s awards, I think it is quite a tough story and it should be read by teenagers who are at least thirteen.

A quite depressing book, really well-written and full of deep emotions. I need something a little bit lighter and happier now but I absolutely loved this book. There was a point where I read 100 pages in a row. A really brilliant book even though it wasn’t one of my favorite books.

Pages: 232

Price: $6.92. You can buy it here.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANCAIS

How to Make a Bird (Comment faire un oiseau)

Ce livre n’a pas été traduit en français

Résumé: C’est l’aube, sur une route déserte au milieu de la campagne. Vide, à part la jeune fille dans une longue robe de soirée rouge, qui se tient à côté de son vélo et qui regarde la maison qu’elle est sur le point de quitter. Mannie est prête à commencer une nouvelle vie et à oublier les horribles choses qui se sont passées ici, mais elle a besoin de réponses à ses questions avant de partir. Des questions sur sa mère élégante mais instable, sur son frère qui lui a toujours fait de l’ombre, et son meilleur ami Harry Jacob, qui pourrait bien être le petit ami de Mannie…

(texte traduit par moi-même)

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Voici une histoire véritablement belle mais tragique. J’ai aimé le style d’écriture, qui m’a rappelé de la poésie. Les mots choisis sont magnifiques et les phrases sont justes et philosophiques. J’avais envie de citer tout le livre en toute honnêteté. Je n’ai pas vraiment apprécié Manon Clarkeson, mais j’ai eu beaucoup de peine pour elle.

C’est une chose que de lire un livre sur la pauvreté au Moyen Age, mais on ne réalise pas bien ce que c’est. C’en est une autre que de lire une histoire sur une fille qui n’a pas assez d’argent pour prendre un panier repas au lycée, qui n’a qu’une paire de chaussures car ce serait une perte d’argent que d’avoir une paire pour l’hiver et une autre pour l’été, qui a un trou dans la chambre qu’elle partage avec son frère et qui a toujours froid. On se sent mal, et désolé. Et quand on voit la façon dont sa mère la traite, ça n’arrange rien.

Le livre démarre lorsqu’elle s’enfuit de chez elle pour aller à Melbourne, avec l’espoir d’atterrir à Paris. L’histoire n’est pas vraiment très longue, elle dure seulement deux petits jours, mais ce sont les souvenirs, la douleur et le désir de découvrir qui elle est de Mannie qui remplissent le livre. J’ai aimé la manière dont j’ai ressenti les émotions de l’héroïne. Le problème que j’ai eu avec ses souvenirs est qu’ils sont pleins de différents personnages. J’étais vraiment perdue, mais j’ai vite compris qu’il n’y avait que quelques personnages vraiment importants pour l’histoire. J’ai aimé que l’histoire ne soit pas raconté de manière chronologique mais qu’elle soit explorée par petits bouts qui se sont assemblés comme un puzzle pour révéler l’histoire entière. Tellement de thèmes sont explorés, tels que la perte et les problèmes familiaux, le premier amour et la douleur. J’ai pleuré plus d’une fois en le lisant. J’ai été surprise par le fait que le livre gagne autant de prix de littérature pour enfants, je pense que l’histoire est assez dure et qu’elle devrait être lue par des adolescents d’au moins treize ans.

Une histoire plutôt déprimante, vraiment très bien écrite et pleine de sentiments très profonds. J’ai besoin de quelque chose d’un peu plus léger et heureux désormais mais j’ai vraiment aimé ce livre. Il y a eu un moment où j’ai lu 100 pages d’affilée. Un livre tout à fait brillant même si je n’ai pas eu de coup de cœur.

Pages: 232

Prix: 14,31 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note: 15/20

Sans titre

chall310

26/35

One thought on “Review – Critique: How to make a bird

Leave a Reply

