Review – Critique: Mockingjay Hunger Games 3 (La révolte)

five stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Hunger Games, Mockingjay (book 3)

Book Description: Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding. District 13 has come out of the shadows and is plotting to overthrow the Capitol. Though she’s long been a part of the revolution, Katniss hasn’t known it. Now it seems that everyone has had a hand in the carefully laid plans but her. The success of the rebellion hinges on Katniss’s willingness to be a pawn, to accept responsibility for countless lives, and to change the course of the future of Panem. To do this, she must put aside her feelings of anger and distrust. She must become the rebels’ Mockingjay – no matter what the cost.

I read the Hunger Games trilogy about two years ago and I decided to re-read the third book before seing the movie. I have to admit that I had forgotten about 70% of the book. I had forgotten characters, most of the scenes, a lot of deaths. I just remembered the basic plot. The Hunger Games is one of my favorite trilogies though. But I think you always see that in reviews. So I thought there was no point in writing another review saying how good is this book, how well-written it is, how great the plot is, etc. Plus I am sure most of you have read the books or saw the movies and you already have seen, at least, the trailer from the third movie. So I thought I’d make a best of, like the blog A touch of Blue Marine did with Harry Potter. (here is a link to her Harry Potter and the prisoner of Azkaban best of). Before I start this best of I have a few comments on this third book. First, I love how we return to the universe with a very different Katniss, a “mentally disoriented” girl as it is written on her hospital bracelet. She has changed a lot, and she was broken beyond repair. And I think it makes sense. Second, I love how the suspense about what happened to Peeta is kept, although if you have seen the trailer, you probably already know that he is alive, even if he appears to be on Snow’s side. I loved the love triangle in this book, it is not annoying at all as it really has a reason to exist. Then, as you probably have heard, there are a lot of deaths in this book, but it also makes sense. I mean, all the characters are in a revolution, in combat. Did you expect them to all stay alive? That wouldn’t be a very realistic war then, would it?

Now, let’s start this best of!!

How the first and the second books feel once you have read the third one:

tumblr_m862hs2c591r49fcto1_500

difficult to imagine, huh?

Sans titre

One of my favorite characters in this book:

041613-hunger-games-stills-4-623

Primrose. She is so much more mature and interesting. I love the way she thinks and act, and I love her part in Mockindjay.

Sans titre

A character I hate: 

President_Alma_Coin

Coin. I couldn’t stand her even at the beginning of the book.

Sans titre

The first time we see Peeta is alive:

tumblr_ne7us1ekPG1s3u5lno1_r1_250

Yes. I was shocked reading about this, as you probably were when you saw this in the trailer.

How Katniss reacted:

giphy (3)

How I reacted:

giphy (2)

I have to admit the whole thing with Peeta literally broke my heart.

Sans titre

My favorite quotes from Mockingjay:

“It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart.”

“Fire is catching! And if we burn, you burn with us!”

“Some walks you have to take alone.”

“I drag myself out of nightmares each morning and find there’s no relief in waking.”

Sans titre

Now, let’s sum up the third book:

1244628717_bomb

giphy (4)

giphy

tumblr_n0fbvwLlhF1toamj8o1_500

Jewish_Graveyard_I_by_FrederikM

Sans titre

And this is how I felt most of the time when I was reading:

giphy (1)

And now I am very excited to see the movie! But I wonder when they will cut it in two parts because I don’t honestly think there is enough material in this one to do two movies. In the first part of the book there is almost no action, it’s just an introduction on the new characters and Katniss’s thoughts. But the second movie was one of the best book-to-movie adaptation that I had ever seen so I am not worried too much. Hope you enjoyed reading this!  

Pages: 464

Price: $9.35. You can buy it here.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANCAIS

HUNGER GAMES, tome 3: La Révolte

Résumé : Katniss a survécu par miracle à ses deuxièmes Hunger Games. Sauvée par un commando venu du district 13, elle réapprend à vivre dans les souterrains de ce district mythique. Elle y retrouve sa mère, sa petite soeur Prim et même Gale, Haymitch, Plutarch et certains des tributs, aussi mal en point qu’elle. Une fois remise sur pieds, Katniss accepte pourtant de repartir sur le devant de la scène. Elle sera le Geai Moqueur, le visage de la résistance contre le Capitole, organisée par le district 13 et son président, l’étrange Coin. La jeune fille espère ainsi pouvoir retourner dans le Capitole pour assassiner le président Snow et sauver Peeta. Mais avant d’accomplir sa mission, Katniss doit répondre à une question cruciale : doit-elle exécuter sa vengeance ou bien chercher la vraie source du mal ? De son choix dépend l’avenir des districts et la survie de l’espoir…

J’ai lu la trilogie Hunger Games il y a environ deux ans et j’ai décidé de relire le dernier tome avant la sortie du film. Je dois admettre que j’en avais oublié au moins 70%. J’avais oublié des personnages, la plupart des scènes et beaucoup de morts. Je me rappelais seulement de l’intrigue de base. Les Hunger Games font partie de mes livres préférés. Mais j’imagine que c’est ce que vous lisez dans toutes les critiques. Donc je me suis dit qu’il n’y avait aucun intérêt à écrire une autre critique juste pour répéter à quel point ce livre est génial, à quel point il est bien écrit, que l’histoire est incroyable, etc. En plus je suis sûre que la plupart d’entre vous ont lu les livres ou vu les films et que vous avez au moins vu la bande-annonce du troisième film. J’ai donc voulu faire un best of, un peu comme l’a fait Marine du blog A touch of Blue Marine avec Harry Potter. (voici un lien vers son best of d’Harry Potter et le prisonnier d’Azkaban). Avant de commencer mon best of, j’ai quelques commentaires à faire sur ce tome trois. Tout d’abord, j’ai beaucoup aimé me replonger dans l’univers avec une Katniss très différente, une fille “perturbée mentalement” comme le mentionne son bracelet d’hôpital. Elle a beaucoup changé et elle a été brisée par les Jeux et rien ne pourra arranger cela. Et je trouve que c’est logique. En deuxième, j’ai aimé le suspense quant à ce qui est arrivé à Peeta, mais si vous avez vu la bande-annonce vous savez qu’il est en vie et qu’il est apparemment du côté de Snow. Ensuite, comme vous en avez sûrement entendu parler, il y a beaucoup de morts dans ce tome, mais là aussi c’est logique. Enfin, tous les personnages sont en plein dans une révolution, au combat. Et vous vous attendiez à ce qu’ils restent tous en vie? Ce ne serait pas une guerre très réaliste, non ?

Commençons donc ce best of !

Ce à quoi ressemblent le premier et le second tome une fois qu’on a lu le troisième : 

tumblr_m862hs2c591r49fcto1_500

difficile à imaginer, non ?

Sans titre

Un de mes personnages préférés dans ce tome :

041613-hunger-games-stills-4-623

Primrose.  Elle devient tellement plus mature et intéressante. J’aime sa façon de penser et d’agir, et j’aime son rôle dans la Révolte.

Sans titre

Un personnage que je déteste : 

President_Alma_Coin

Coin. Je n’ai pu la supporter, dès le début du livre.

Sans titre

La première fois que l’on voit que Peeta est en vie :

tumblr_ne7us1ekPG1s3u5lno1_r1_250

Oui, j’ai été choquée en lisant cela, tout comme vous l’avez probablement été par la bande-annonce.

La réaction de Katniss :

giphy (3)

Ma réaction :

giphy (2)

Je dois vous confier que toute l’histoire avec Peeta m’a littéralement brisé le coeur.

Sans titre

Mes citations préférées dans la Révolte :

“C’est dix fois plus long de se reconstruire que de s’écrouler.”

“Le feu se propage ! Et si nous brûlons, vous brûlerez avec nous !”

“Il y a certaines choses pour lesquelles on a besoin d’être seule.”

“Je fais des cauchemars toutes les nuits, et chaque matin, je constate une fois de plus que le réveil n’arrange rien.”

Sans titre

Maintenant, résumons ce troisième tome :

1244628717_bomb

giphy (4)

giphy

tumblr_n0fbvwLlhF1toamj8o1_500

Jewish_Graveyard_I_by_FrederikM

Sans titre

Et voici ce que j’ai ressenti pendant la plupart de ma lecture :

giphy (1)

Et maintenant j’ai tellement hâte de voir le film ! Mais je me demande où ils vont bien pouvoir le couper car, selon moi, il n’y a pas assez de contenu dans ce tome pour en faire deux films. Dans la première partie il n’y a quasiment pas d’action, il s’agit juste d’une introduction aux nouveaux personnages et on se retrouve seulement avec les pensées de Katniss. Mais le deuxième film a été l’une des meilleures adaptations de livres que j’ai vues donc je ne m’inquiète pas vraiment ! J’espère que cet article vous a plu !

Pages: 417

Prix: 18,15 euros. (ouille, lire en français c’est cher !) Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note: 20/20

2 thoughts on “Review – Critique: Mockingjay Hunger Games 3 (La révolte)

  1. laurahartleyy says:

    I LOVE the gifs you’ve chosen for all of these – I so agree! Though for some reason Mockingjay was my least favourite of all the books. It was the most intense but I think the Peeta storyline made me too sad to like it as much as the other two. I feel like if I re-read the books now I’d enjoy Mockingjay a lot more though as I’d appreciate the revolution and focus less on the romance ;p Great post!

    Laura @ What’s Hot?

    • marinesbooks says:

      Thank you so much Laura! I’m so happy to see you here on my blog🙂 really? I think it was one of my favorite, especially because of the Peeta storyline, I love it when books are so emotional! Thank you🙂

Leave a Reply

