Review – critique: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (Will & Will)

five stars

 

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Book description: Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, culminating in heroic turns-of-heart and the most epic musical ever to grace the high-school stage.

So, what did I think about this book?

Last year I had read the Fault in Our Stars, my first John Green novel, and that didn’t go too well. The review is here if you want to read it. I had thought it was okay but it was a bit lazy. I mean, writing about two teens dying of cancer is a bit easy, you don’t even have to be a good writer to make people cry. But everyone I know loves John Green and I decided I would give him a second chance. It was hard picking the right book because there are so many of them but Will Grayson, Will Grayson really appealed to me. First, I loved the idea: it is about two boys both named Will Grayson who live in the same city and who meet each other. Then, I also wanted to see the collaboration between John Green and David Levithan. Each of them wrote about one Will Grayson. John Green wrote about the one who is friend with Tiny, FYI.

And I am pretty sure I picked just the right book. It is funny, moving, witty and well-written. The two boys are both really interesting characters and the writers give you access to their every thoughts, actually, very cynical thoughts. It is a brilliant novel about the existential crises of teenagers, friendship, love, homosexuality and a bit of everything. Even if it’s not an action book, it’s a real page-turner. In fact, I read it in only 3 days.

Every chapter is written by one author and they switch from one Will Grayson to the other. I have no preference, I really loved both characters and stories. I think they meet around chapter 5 or 6. The second Will Grayson, the one who is friend with Maura, goes through really difficult things and I was heartbroken by the cruelty of what happened to him.

I had such a great time with this book, and I am now so sad that it is a stand-alone because I just loved every single character so much and now I won’t get to read anything else about them. I don’t usually read too much contemporary but this year I had so many good experiences with them that I will probably buy more of them next year. Anyway, I recommend it to you all!

And merry Christmas!

Pages: 308

Price: $8.87. You can buy it here.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. 

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Will & Will

Résumé: Will Grayson se méfie des sentiments. Les histoires de cœur portent la poisse, tout le temps. Alors dans la vie, autant se faire discret. Son meilleur ami, Tiny Cooper, est à la fois une bénédiction et une vraie plaie : ami fidèle et rayonnant, il est aussi ouvertement gay que corpulent et n’a pas l’habitude de passer inaperçu.À l’autre bout de ville, un adolescent en pleine déprime assume mal sa différence. Le hasard veut qu’il se nomme lui aussi Will Grayson…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

L’année dernière j’avais lu Nos étoiles contraires, mon premier roman de John Green, et je n’avais pas trouvé ça tellement terrible. Voici la critique si cela vous intéresse. Je l’avais trouvé passable mais vraiment, c’était un peu paresseux. Enfin, écrire sur deux ados qui sont en train de mourir d’un cancer c’est un peu facile, vous n’avez même pas besoin d’être un bon écrivain pour faire pleurer les gens. Mais tous mes amis adorent John Green et j’ai décidé de lui donner une deuxième chance. Cela a été difficile de choisir le bon livre parce qu’il y en a tellement mais Will & Will m’attirait vraiment. Tout d’abord, j’aimais l’idée : l’histoire parle de deux garçons qui s’appellent tous les deux Will Grayson, qui habitent dans la même ville et, qui vont se rencontrer. Puis, j’avais envie de voir la collaboration entre John Green et David Levithan. Chacun d’entre eux a écrit sur l’un des Will Grayson. John Green a écrit sur celui qui est ami avec Tiny, pour l’info.

Et je suis plutôt certaine d’avoir choisi le livre parfait. Il est drôle, émouvant, plein d’esprit et bien écrit. Les deux garçons sont vraiment des personnages intéressants et les écrivains vous donnent accès à toutes leurs pensées, et ils sont plutôt ironiques et cyniques ces garçons. C’est un livre incroyable sur les crises existentielles des ados, l’amitié, l’amour, l’homosexualité, et un peu de tout en fait. Même si ce n’est pas un livre d’action, on en tourne les pages très rapidement. A dire vrai, je l’ai lu en trois jours à peine.

Chaque chapitre est écrit par un des deux auteurs et ils se relaient pour suivre un Will grayson puis l’autre. Je n’ai pas de préférence, j’ai aimé les deux personnages ainsi que leurs histoires. Je crois qu’ils se rencontrent vers le chapitre 5 ou 6. Le deuxième Will Grayson, celui qui est ami avec Maura, traverse des choses vraiment difficiles et la cruauté de ce qui lui arrive m’a brisé le cœur.

J’ai passé un superbe moment avec ce livre, et maintenant je suis vraiment triste qu’il s’agisse d’un seul livre car j’ai adoré tous les personnages et je ne vais plus rien pouvoir lire sur eux. Je lis peu de romans contemporains en général mais cette année j’ai eu de très bonnes expériences qui vont me pousser à en acheter plus désormais. Enfin bref, je vous le recommande à tous !

et joyeux Noël !

Pages : 384

Prix : 15 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note: 20/20

Sans titre

4 thoughts on “Review – critique: Will Grayson, Will Grayson (Will & Will)

  1. Pinku says:

    Coucou Marine,
    Juste pour te souhaiter de joyeuses fetes!! J’espere que tu as ete gatee, avec plein de nouveaux livres a lire et chroniquer pour notre plus grand plaisir!
    Je pense lire ce livre aussi, il m’attire souvent l’oeil quand je flane en librairie, et ta chronique m’a donné encore plus envie!
    Bise
    PINKU!!

  2. yashereads says:

    I have read this before I even knew John Green. I think this was his first book that i’ve read by him. I didn’t much focus on who-wrote-which since it was those times i wasn’t that into reading and care less on anything other than the story itself. But i really loved this of theirs. It was def fun read.🙂 I am so inlove with your blog.❤

    • marinesbooks says:

      Oh that’s so cool to read a book before you even know who the author is🙂 ahah I totally understand, you don’t need to focus that much on the book anyway🙂 Awww thanks for the support❤

Leave a Reply

