Review – critique: Autre monde, tome 1 (l’Alliance des trois)

three and a half stars

 

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

“Other World, book 1: the alliance of the Three”

Book description: No one saw it coming. The Great Storm: made of wind and snow, plunging the country into darkness and fear. Strange blue lightnings are crawling along buildings, looking for preys to kill or transform. After the lightnings, Matt and Tobias are left on a devastated planet Earth, very different from what it used to be. Now on their own, they will have to learn how to organize themselves. They will have to understand this Other World if they want to survive it.  

(I translated it myself since the book hasn’t been translated into English).

So, what did I think about this book?

Hello guys! I finished the first book of the series “Other World” written by Maxime Chattam. This is a very famous sci-fi young-adult series in France and it has apparently been translated in ten languages (at least this is what is written on my book but I can’t find any English version) and as I don’t often read French books I decided I had to read this one.

I thought I would read it in three or four days because it looked short but it took me eight days in the end, which is surprising because I usually read really fast in French. Well, at the very beginning I was really afraid so I had to stop reading a few times because I read before going to bed and I knew if I read more I would not be able to sleep, so maybe this slew me down. I was beginning to regret buying this book, it honestly looked like that movie Skyline that frightened me to death a few years ago, and it felt like a zombie attack book, which didn’t fit the book description. Anyway, this one only during the first part and the book is divided into three parts. From the second part on, the book was really different and I totally enjoyed it.

It became an amazing kind of mix between the Maze Runner (with teenagers living together, who don’t know what happened to their parents or what exactly is the world they are living in), Percy Jackson (the organization, the mythological names of the mansions, etc., reminded me of Camp Half-Blood) and a bit of Harry Potter (two boys and a girl, exploring the mansions at night, always in the middle of every trouble, etc.). Finally, I had the book I was hoping to read.

Also, even if the world is dangerous for everyone, Matt, the protagonist, seems to be even more in danger, with the weird creatures apparently looking for him. I liked him as a main character, I immediately had a lot of affection for him. But his group of friends is not very realistic: he is fourteen, his best friend Tobias is 13 and then you have Ambre who is almost 16. Why would a sixteen-year-old girl hang out with them all the time?

Overall, it was a really good book, even though some conversations were childish and some were too scientific, and I absolutely need to buy the six other novels of the series but for now I am trying to reduce my TBR books so I will not buy them for the moment.

Pages: 456

Price: 7,60 euros. You can buy it here. (French)

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Autre-Monde, tome 1: L’alliance des trois

Résumé: Personne ne l’a vue venir. La Grande Tempête : un ouragan de vent et de neige qui plonge le pays dans l’obscurité et l’effroi. D’étranges éclairs bleus rampent le long des immeubles, à la recherche de leurs proies, qu’ils tuent ou transforment… Après leur passage, Matt et Tobias se retrouvent sur une Terre ravagée, différente. Désormais seuls, ils vont devoir s’organiser. Pour comprendre. Pour survivre… à cet Autre-Monde.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Bonjour à tous ! Je viens de terminer le premier tome de la saga Autre Monde de Maxime Chattam. Je suppose que beaucoup d’entre vous ont déjà entendu parler de cette saga de science-fiction française pour Jeunes Adultes à succès, et j’ai décidé pour une fois de lire un livre d’un auteur français. Il s’agissait donc de mon premier roman de l’auteur, qui a été une bonne découverte.

Je pensais le lire en trois ou quatre jours parce qu’il avait l’air court mais il m’a en fait fallu huit jours pour le terminer, ce qui est surprenant car je lis habituellement plutôt vite en français. Enfin, au tout début j’ai eu très peur et j’ai dû arrêter ma lecture plusieurs fois car je lis avant de me coucher et je savais que si je lisais plus, je n’allais pas pouvoir dormir (oui je suis une véritable peureuse avec les livres) et c’est donc peut-être cela qui m’a ralentie. Je commençais à regretter de l’avoir acheté, il m’a vraiment fait penser à ce film Skyline qui m’avait donné des cauchemars il y a quelques années, et j’avais l’impression de lire un roman de zombies, ce qui ne correspondait pas tellement au résumé. Bref, ceci n’a été que pour la première partie. En effet, le livre est divisé en trois parties et à partir de la deuxième, le roman s’est révélé être bien différent et je l’ai vraiment apprécié.

C’est devenu un superbe mélange entre le Labyrinthe (avec des adolescents qui vivent ensemble, qui ne savent pas ce qui est arrivé à leurs parents où ce qu’il en est véritablement du monde dans lequel ils vivent), Percy Jackson (l’organisation, les noms mythologiques des maisons, etc., m’ont rappelé le camp des sang-mêlé) et un peu Harry Potter (deux garçons et une fille, qui explorent les maisons la nuit, et qui se retrouvent toujours au milieu des problèmes…) et enfin, je me suis retrouvée avec le livre que j’avais espéré lire.

Egalement, même si le monde est dangereux pour tous, Matt, le héros, semble être davantage en danger, avec toutes les créatures étranges qui semblent à sa recherche sans qu’on ne sache pourquoi pour l’isntant. Je l’ai adoré en tant que personnage principal, j’ai tout de suite eu beaucoup d’affection pour lui. Mais son groupe d’amis n’est pas très réaliste : il a quatorze ans, son meilleur ami Tobias en a treize et puis il y a Ambre qui a presque seize ans. Et je me le demande, pourquoi une fille de seize ans serait-elle constamment fourrée avec eux ?

De manière générale, cela fut une lecture très agréable, malgré quelques maladresses (surtout au niveau des conversations) et j’ai un besoin urgent d’acheter tous les tomes suivants, mais pour l’instant j’essaie de réduire ma PAL donc je ne vais pas les acheter pour l’instant.

Pages: 456

Prix: 7,60 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note: 15/20

Sans titre

2 thoughts on “Review – critique: Autre monde, tome 1 (l’Alliance des trois)

Leave a Reply

