Review – critique : The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair (la Vérité sur l’Affaire Harry Quebert)

four and a half star

 

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

 

ENGLISH

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

Book description: August 30, 1975: the day fifteen-year-old Nola Kellergan is glimpsed fleeing through the woods, never to be heard from again; the day Somerset, New Hampshire, lost its innocence. Thirty-three years later, Marcus Goldman, a successful young novelist, visits Somerset to see his mentor, Harry Quebert, one of the country’s most respected writers, and to find a cure for his writer’s block as his publisher’s deadline looms. But Marcus’s plans are violently upended when Harry is suddenly and sensationally implicated in the cold-case murder of Nola Kellergan—whom, he admits, he had an affair with. As the national media convicts Harry, Marcus launches his own investigation, following a trail of clues through his mentor’s books, the backwoods and isolated beaches of New Hampshire, and the hidden history of Somerset’s citizens and the man they hold most dear.

So, what did I think about this book?

This is the first time I read a thriller that was not for school, I do not usually enjoy police investigations because I find them quite boring and the story is always kind of the same. But this book is so fast-paced and interesting that I could literally not stop reading. I am so proud that such a good book was written in French and had so much success in the whole world, especially in the United States because this does not happen too often.

I would like to thank Joel Dicker for writing the first thriller that I loved and that did not scare me. I usually hate thrillers because I cannot sleep after reading them, imagining psychopaths like that in real life but The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair is a beautiful book with the most interesting investigation ever, love stories, family stories and following the writing process for a book at the same time. The plot keeps changing all the time, all the characters of the book actually seem involved in what happened in 1975 to Nola Kellergan. The writing style is also really good and make you turn the pages quickly. Everyone I know who read it recommended it to me, especially for the ending which is absolutely breathtaking and I would also recommend it myself now. I hope there will actually be a movie for this book so that more people can have access to this story (I know not everyone enjoys reading).

The characters are interesting and well-developed and the author has a gift to make you like and dislike them as quickly as you first liked them. There is a story behind all of them and they all seemed important to the story to me. What I loved the most is how you constantly go from 2008 to 1975 and see how the characters evolved over time. This crime book deserves all the wonderful prizes it received and I hope to read other books from this amazing author.

I also enjoyed the “historical” part of the book with the first term of Obama and the description of the typical American small town that made me travel inside the book. Goldman is a great protagonist and will slowly resolve the mystery throughout the book, facing many twist of events that will make the reader think and try to find out the truth too.

A must-read!

Pages: 656

Price: $14.37. You can buy it here.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

La vérité sur l’affaire Harry Quebert

Résumé : À New York, au printemps 2008, alors que l’Amérique bruisse des prémices de l’élection présidentielle, Marcus Goldman, jeune écrivain à succès, est dans la tourmente : il est incapable d’écrire le nouveau roman qu’il doit remettre à son éditeur d’ici quelques mois. Le délai est près d’expirer quand soudain tout bascule pour lui : son ami et ancien professeur d’université, Harry Quebert, l’un des écrivains les plus respectés du pays, est rattrapé par son passé et se retrouve accusé d’avoir assassiné, en 1975, Nola Kellergan, une jeune fille de 15 ans, avec qui il aurait eu une liaison. Convaincu de l’innocence de Harry, Marcus abandonne tout pour se rendre dans le New Hampshire et mener son enquête.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Il s’agit de ma première lecture de thriller en dehors des cours, je n’aime pas beaucoup les enquêtes de police habituellement car je les trouve plutôt ennuyeuses et l’histoire est un peu toujours la même. Mais ce livre possède un rythme tellement soutenu et intéressant que je ne pouvais littéralement pas arrêter ma lecture. Je suis si fière qu’un livre aussi bon ait été écrit en français et ait connu autant de succès dans le monde entier, particulièrement aux Etats-Unis où cela arrive rarement.

J’aimerais remercier Joël Dicker pour avoir écrit le premier thriller que j’ai aimé et qui ne m’a pas effrayée. En général, je déteste les histoires de crime parce qu’elles m’empêchent ensuite de dormir vu que j’imagine les psychopathes de l’histoire dans la vraie vie mais la Vérité sur l’Affaire Harry Quebert est un très beau livre sur la meilleure enquête que j’ai pu lire, des histoires d’amour et de famille et qui, en plus de cela, suit le processus d’écriture du livre du personnage principal en même temps. L’intrigue change constamment, tous les personnages du bouquin semblent en fin de compte impliqués dans l’histoire de Nola Kellergan en 1975. Le style d’écriture est également très bon et pousse à tourner très vite les pages. Toutes les personnes que je connais et qui l’ont lu me l’ont vivement recommandé, surtout pour la chute incroyable et je le recommanderai à mon tour. J’espère véritablement qu’il y aura un film adapté du roman pour que davantage de personnes aient accès à l’histoire, car tout le monde n’aime pas forcément lire.

Les personnages sont intéressants et bien développés et l’auteur a le don de nous les faire aimer et détester aussi vite qu’on a bien pu les aimer. Il y a une histoire derrière chacun d’entre eux et ils m’ont tous parus importants à l’histoire. Ce que j’ai le plus aimé, ce sont les sauts dans le temps constants entre 2008 et 1975 et de voir comment les personnages ont évolué avec le temps. Ce livre policier mérite les superbes prix qui lui ont été décernés et j’espère lire davantage de romans de cet auteur véritablement doué.

J’ai également bien aimé le côté « historique » du roman avec le premier mandat d’Obama et la description de la petite ville américaine typique qui m’a fait voyager au cœur du roman. Goldman est un narrateur génial qui va lentement résoudre le mystère au fil du livre, s’affrontant à de nombreux rebondissements qui vont faire réfléchir le lecteur qui va tenter de découvrir la vérité lui aussi.

A lire !

Pages : 854

Prix : 9,20 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note : 18/20 

Sans titre

8 thoughts on “Review – critique : The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair (la Vérité sur l’Affaire Harry Quebert)

  1. Iris Sireadbooks says:

    Je l’ai adoré aussi! Pourtant quand j’ai vu la brique (conseillée par mon papa) je me suis dit “Mon Dieu, je ne vais jamais en finir”.. Et pourtant, ça passe à une allure folle! J’ai hâte de lire la suite🙂

Leave a Reply

