Review – Critique: Confessions of a Liar, Thief and Failed Sex God

three stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Confessions of a Liar, Thief and Failed Sex God

Book description: I have this annoying problem that gives me a lot of trouble: a conscience. Neil Bridges attends a Catholic boys’ school in which teachers rule with iron fists and thick leather straps. Some crumble under the pressure but Neil toughs it out, just as his Vietnam-bound older brother has done before him. He has to be a man, after all. But at 16, how can he be sure of himself when he’s not sure of anything else? He loses a friend and finds another, falls in love, and unwittingly treads a path that leads to revenge and possibly murder.

So, what did I think about this book?

First, I would like to thank the author again for sending me this book and being such a nice person. It was a nice read, despite being too short (I read it in around 3h and I am not native). I was in the mood for historical fiction, so I took it out of my TBR pile.

The novel is set in 1967 and I enjoyed being thrown into a high school student’s daily life from then. I can’t believe the teachers were allowed to torture them without anyone saying anything about it. The fact that the teachers were Brothers shocked me even more. Neil and his friends being forced to endure this in silence seems horrifying to me. You would think you were reading Matilda, except that this time, the novel depicts reality. I wouldn’t have wanted to go to a Catholic school back then, when corporal punishment was allowed, for anything. The more I got into the book, the more the title seemed strange to me. Why give such a funny and light title to an historical fiction dealing with serious topics?

I would have expected the Vietnam War to be more important in the novel but, in the end, except for the fact that Neil’s brother got called, we don’t hear a lot about it. Also, the two brothers like to tease each other and because of that, since the story is told by Josh, we don’t even know if he is really sad that his brother has to leave. No teary goodbyes in this novel… Anyway, the characters have concerns and reactions that I felt were realistic and appropriate to the time, I appreciated reading about them. I wish I could have spent more time with them.

I liked the plot, and I found the ending very positive. I can’t get tired of reading the last lines. In short, I don’t regret reading this novel even though I think it could easily have been improved a bit. A nice book, and despite not being out of the ordinary and being too short to my taste, I think it was worth reading.

Pages: 240

Price: $9.99. You can buy it here.

Genre: Young-Adult, contemporary, historical fiction. Age 13+

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

“Les confessions d’un Menteur, Voleur et Sex Symbol raté”

Confessions of a Liar, Thief and Failed Sex God

Résumé : J’ai ce problème embêtant qui me cause de nombreux soucis : une conscience. Neil Bridges est élève dans une école Catholique pour garçons dans laquelle les professeurs font régner l’ordre d’une main de fer avec des lanières de cuir. Certains s’effondrent sous la pression mais Neil tient bon, tout comme son grand frère qui va bientôt être envoyé au Vietnam l’a fait avant lui. Il doit être un homme, après tout. Mais à 16 ans, comment peut-il être sûr de lui lorsqu’il n’est sûr de rien d’autre ? Il perd un ami et en gagne un autre, tombe amoureux, et marche sur le chemin de la vengeance et peut-être même du meurtre sans le vouloir. 

(J’ai réalisé la traduction du résumé car le livre n’est pas traduit en français)

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

En premier lieu, je souhaite encore une fois remercier l’auteur pour m’avoir envoyé ce livre et pour avoir été si gentil. Ça a été une lecture très agréable, bien qu’un peu trop courte (environ 3 h de lecture sachant que l’anglais n’est pas ma langue maternelle). J’étais d’humeur à lire une fiction historique, et je l’ai donc sorti de ma PAL.

Le livre se passe en 1967 et j’ai apprécié être plongée dans le quotidien d’un lycéen de l’époque. Je n’arrive pas à croire que leurs professeurs avaient le droit de les torturer sans que personne ne trouve rien à y redire. Le fait que les professeurs soient des Frères m’a encore plus choquée. Que Neil et ses amis soient obligés de subir les coups en silence m’horrifie. On se croirait presque dans Matilda, sauf que cette fois, le livre dépeint la réalité. Je n’aurais pour rien au monde voulu aller dans une école catholique à cette époque où les punitions corporelles étaient autorisées. Plus j’avançais dans ma lecture, plus le choix du titre m’interpellait. Pourquoi donner un titre humoristique et léger à une fiction historique qui traite de sujets plutôt sérieux ?

Je m’attendais à ce que la guerre du Vietnam ait une place plus importante dans le roman mais, en fin de compte, à part le fait que le frère de Neil soit appelé, on ne sait pas grand-chose. En plus, les deux frères aiment se chamailler et du coup, vu que l’histoire est racontée par Neil, nous ne savons même pas s’il est vraiment triste du départ de son frère. Aucun adieu déchirant dans ce roman… En tout cas, les personnages ont des préoccupations et des réactions qui m’ont semblé tout à fait réalistes et appropriées par rapport à l’époque, j’ai apprécié les découvrir. J’aurais aimé passer un peu plus de temps avec eux.

J’ai bien aimé l’intrigue, et j’ai trouvé la fin positive. Je ne me lasse pas des dernières lignes. En bref, je ne regrette pas du tout cette lecture même si je pense que le livre aurait pu facilement être un peu amélioré. Un bon livre, et même s’il ne sort pas de l’ordinaire et qu’il n’est pas assez long à mon goût, je pense qu’il valait le coup d’être lu.

Pages : 240

Prix : 9,48 euros.  Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.  

Genre : Young-Adult, contemporain, fiction historique. Age 13+

Note : 13/20

Sans titre

Leave a Reply

