Review – Critique: East of Eden (A l’est d’Eden)

four stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

East of Eden

Book description: . ‘There is only one book to a man,’ Steinbeck wrote of “East of Eden”, his most ambitious novel. Set in the rich farmland of the Salinas Valley, California, this powerful, often brutal novel, follows the intertwined destinies of two families – the Trasks and the Hamiltons – whose generations hopelessly re-enact the fall of Adam and Eve and the poisonous rivalry of Cain and Abel. Here Steinbeck created some of his most memorable characters and explored his most enduring themes: the mystery of identity; the inexplicability of love, and the murderous consequences of love’s absence.

So, what did I think about this book?

I haven’t written a review in such a long time that I forgot how to do it! Don’t worry, I didn’t get late on my reviews, the reason I didn’t write for three weeks is just that I only read one book during this period. Why, do you want to know? It’s not that the book was bad, it is incredibly well written, and I was not in a reading slump either.  The only reason why I couldn’t read is that I had no time for this because I was moving house (I didn’t even open my book for 5 whole days). Also, let’s not hide it, this book is huge and doesn’t really have a lot of action.

This novel is a social novel mainly following two families in the countryside: the Trasks and the Hamiltons. When the story starts around 1870, there are not many characters, but then their children will become new protagonists at the beginning of the 20th century. After that, their own children become the protagonists of the story and the novel ends during World War I. I feel like I have read the complete series of I-don’t-know how many books. It is hard to believe that in a single novel the time and the protagonists have changed three times! These changes are soft and happen almost imperceptibly, we hardly notice that the children become the protagonists one after the other.

For me, this book is a study of the human mind, of good and evil and of social and family relationships. I loved traveling through the complex minds of John Steinbeck’s characters. What an outstanding writer. Nothing surprising here. I mean, this man got a Nobel Prize for his work. This novel was such a beautiful read for me, an enriching lassic that is worth being read.

The novel is divided in four parts, all set at different times, but I wouldn’t be able to tell you which one was my favorite. I loved the fact that at every generation there were always two brothers so different from each other. I guess that my favorite part was about Adam Trask and his brother Charles, but the characters I understood best were Adam Trask’s sons.

An interesting fact: John Steinbeck is part of the Hamilton family and part of this novel is autobiographical. I don’t know enough about this author and this novel to tell you if it can be considered an autobiography or not. To be read at least once in your life!

Pages: 640

Price: $10.59. You can buy it here.

Genre: Classics. Social novel. Historical fiction. Age 16+

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

A l’est d’Eden

Résumé : Dans cette grande fresque, les personnages représentent le bien et le mal avec leurs rapports complexes. Adam, épris de calme. Charles, son demi-frère, dur et violent, Cathy, la femme d’Adam, un monstre camouflé derrière sa beauté, ses enfants les jumeaux Caleb et Aaron. En suivant de génération en génération les familles Trask et Hamilton, l’auteur nous raconte l’histoire de son pays, la vallée de la Salinas, en Californie du Nord. Pour cette œuvre généreuse et attachante, John Steinbeck a reçu le prix Nobel de littérature.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Eh bien, cela fait tellement longtemps que je n’ai pas écrit une chronique que j’ai oublié comment on s’y prenait ! Rassurez-vous je n’ai pas pris de retard dans mes critiques, la raison pour laquelle je n’ai pas écrit pendant trois semaines est tout simplement que je n’ai lu qu’un seul livre pendant ce temps-là. Pourquoi donc, me direz-vous ? Ce n’est pas que le livre était mauvais, il est même divinement bien écrit, et je n’ai pas vécu de panne de lecture non plus, la raison est tout simplement que je n’ai pas eu le temps de lire avec mon déménagement (oui, je n’ai même pas ouvert mon livre pendant au moins cinq jours). Et puis, ne nous le cachons pas, il s’agit également d’un bon gros pavé où l’action n’est pas vraiment présente.

Ce roman est une peinture sociale qui s’appuie principalement sur les membres de deux familles à la campagne : Les Trask et les Hamilton. Lorsque l’histoire commence vers 1870, les personnages sont peu nombreux, mais ce sont ensuite leurs enfants qui vont devenir les protagonistes à l’aube du 20ème siècle. Ensuite, ce seront leurs propres enfants qui deviendront les protagonistes et l’histoire se terminera pendant l’époque de la Première Guerre Mondiale. Je ressors de cette lecture en ayant l’impression d’avoir lu une intégrale de je-ne-sais combien de tomes… Difficile de croire que dans un seul roman nous ayons changé d’époque et de protagonistes trois fois ! Ces changements se font tout en douceur, presque imperceptiblement, on se rend à peine compte que les enfants deviennent les personnages principaux chacun à leur tour.

Il s’agit vraiment pour moi d’une étude du caractère humain, du bien et du mal et des relations sociales et familiales. J’ai beaucoup aimé voyager dans l’esprit complexe des personnages de John Steinbeck. C’est un écrivain tout à fait remarquable. Comment s’en étonner alors qu’il a reçu le prix Nobel de littérature pour son œuvre ? Une très belle lecture pour moi, un classique vraiment enrichissant et qui vaut la peine d’être lu.

Le roman est divisé en quatre parties, toutes à une époque différente, mais je ne saurais vous dire laquelle j’ai préférée. J’ai aimé le fait qu’à chaque génération il y ait des frères qui contrastent autant. J’imagine que mon passage préféré concerne Adam Trask et son frère Charles, mais les personnages que j’ai le mieux compris ont été les fils d’Adam Trask.

Petite chose à savoir, John Steinbeck fait partie de la famille des Hamilton et ce roman est en partie autobiographique. Ne m’y connaissant pas trop sur cet auteur et ce roman, difficile de vous dire s’il peut être considéré comme une autobiographie. A lire au moins une fois dans sa vie !

Pages : 786

Prix : 7,90 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici

Genre : Classique. Peinture sociale. Fiction historique. Age 16+

Note : 16/20

Sans titre

6 thoughts on “Review – Critique: East of Eden (A l’est d’Eden)

Leave a Reply

