Review – critique: Invisibility (Invisibilité)

three and a half stars

I’ll write first in French, and then in English. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first inFrench and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en français, deuxième partie en anglais, descendez un peu).

FRANÇAIS

Invisibilité

Quatrième de couverture : Stephen est invisible depuis toujours. Une malédiction impossible. Jusqu’au jour où Elizabeth le voit. Elle seule peut briser le sort. Au risque de les séparer à jamais.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Je remercie les éditions Michel Lafon pour cette lecture.

Je tiens tout d’abord à souligner à quel point la couverture est sublime, bien plus belle que la version originale. Elle m’avait attirée à de nombreuses reprises en librairie, mais les avis plutôt mitigés m’avaient fait hésiter. J’ai été du coup agréablement surprise par cette lecture et je suis ravie d’avoir découvert l’univers des sorts et des malédictions. C’était un véritable plaisir que de retrouver David Levithan, que j’avais adoré dans Will & Will, à nouveau dans un roman écrit à quatre mains. Une technique qui lui semble propre mais que je trouve très originale !

Les chapitres s’alternent entre deux points de vue : celui de Stephen, qui est invisible aux yeux de tous, et celui d’Elizabeth, qui est la seule à pouvoir le voir. C’est David qui a écrit la partie de Stephen mais je n’ai honnêtement pas remarqué de grosses différences au niveau des styles des deux auteurs, si ce n’est que l’on passe d’un point de vue féminin à un point de vue masculin à chaque chapitre, mais cela vient peut-être du fait qu’il a été traduit. D’ailleurs, au niveau de la traduction, j’ai trouvé les dialogues au présent avec le sujet « je » inversé (demandé-je, pensé-je, appelé-je) un peu étranges. Je sais que cela est juste grammaticalement, mais ce n’est pas très habituel et cela revient un peu trop fréquemment dans ce roman, et ça m’a interpellée à chaque fois.

Je dois avouer que je ne comprends pas vraiment pourquoi ce roman a reçu autant d’avis mitigés. Dès le début, j’ai trouvé les personnages touchants, l’histoire bien menée, et le suspense présent. J’avais hâte de savoir ce qui allait arriver à Stephen maintenant qu’une personne pouvait le voir. Sa vie allait-elle changer ? D’où venait cette invisibilité ? Allaient-ils pouvoir le « guérir » ? J’ai également trouvé l’univers très riche, et je pense qu’il aurait très bien convenu à une saga ! Mais le concept tenait tout à fait bien dans un one-shot alors je ne vais pas me plaindre.

Il manquait une petite étincelle mais j’ai tout apprécié de ce roman, y compris les personnages secondaires. Cela faisait longtemps que je n’avais pas lu une romance paranormale et celle-ci a vraiment su me convaincre. La fin est assez ouverte, et je dois avouer que, face à une fin ouverte, je suis toujours partagée entre la frustration et le bonheur de pouvoir m’imaginer la suite. J’aurais aimé une autre fin, mais je me rends compte que je ne suis pas vraiment frustrée. C’est vrai que j’aurais apprécié que l’histoire continue car je n’avais pas envie de dire au revoir aux personnages, mais la fin est réussie.

Une lecture romantique et pleine de magie qui correspond tout à fait à l’esprit des fêtes. Je me verrais bien le relire à nouveau en tout cas. Et je suis définitivement conquise par David Levithan, dont je compte bien lire d’autres romans !

Pages : 432

Prix : 15,95 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Young-Adult, romance, fantastique. Age 12+

Auteur: David Levithan et Andrea Cremer

Note : 15/20

Sans titre

ENGLISH

Invisibility

Afficher l'image d'origine

Book description: Stephen is used to invisibility. He was born that way. Invisible. Cursed. Elizabeth sometimes wishes for invisibility. When you’re invisible, no one can hurt you. So when her mother decides to move the family to New York City, Elizabeth is thrilled. It’s easy to blend in there. Then Stephen and Elizabeth meet. To Stephen’s amazement, she can see him. And to Elizabeth’s amazement, she wants him to be able to see her—all of her. But as the two become closer, an invisible world gets in their way—a world of grudges and misfortunes, spells and curses. And once they’re thrust into this world, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how deep they’re going to go—because the answer could mean the difference between love and death.

So, what did I think about this book?

First of all, I read the French edition of it and I would like to highlight how pretty the French cover is, I mean, it is really prettier than the original one, isn’t it? I had seen it many times in bookshops and I really wanted to read it, but it had rather mixed opinions. This is why I really want to thank the publisher for sending me this book. I have to say that it was a good surprise for me and I am glad I discovered this universe of spells and curses. It was a real pleasure to read David Levithan again (I had absolutely loved him in Will Grayson, Will Grayson) in a novel co-written with another author. It looks like he does that often but I think it is very original.

The chapters are alternating between two points of view: Stephen’s, who is invisible for everyone, and Elizabeth’s, the only one who can see him. David wrote Stephen’s part but I honestly didn’t notice any huge difference between the writing styles of both authors, except for the fact that it changes between a girl’s and a boy’s points of view, but it might come from the fact that I read it in French and that it had been translated.

I have to admit that I don’t really understand why so many people didn’t like it. From the beginning, I thought the characters were moving, the plot well-led and the suspense was here. I couldn’t wait to know what was going to happen to Stephen now that someone could see him. Was his life going to change? Why was he invisible? Were they going to be able to “cure” him? I also thought the universe was extremely extensive, and it would have been great for a series. But a one-shot was perfectly fine too, so I am not going to complain.

There was a little spark missing but I enjoyed everything in this novel, even secondary characters. I hadn’t read a paranormal romance for a while and this one totally convinced me. The ending is quite open, and I have to admit that, when there is an open-ending, I am always torn between frustration and happiness about being able to imagine what was going to happen next. I would have liked something else for the ending, but I realize that I am not frustrated. It’s true, I would have loved the story to keep on because I didn’t want to say goodbye to the characters, but the ending is a success.

It was a romantic story full of magic perfect for the holidays. I think it is the kind of book I would like to reread someday. And David Levithan is now definitely an author that I love and I want to discover more of his work!

Pages: 384

Price: $9.99. You can buy it here

Genre: Young-Adult, fantasy, romance. Age 12+

Author: David Levithan and Andrea Cremer

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

logo challenge

7/35

7 thoughts on “Review – critique: Invisibility (Invisibilité)

Leave a Reply

