Review – Critique : The Rest of us Just Live Here (Nous autres simples mortels)

three and a half stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en français, deuxième partie en anglais).

ENGLISH

The Rest of us Just Live Here

Book description: The Rest of Us Just Live Here is a bold and irreverent novel that powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable. What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death? What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again. Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

So, what did I think about this book?

I had had this novel for a long time on my wishlist. I plan on reading all of Patrick Ness novels, and my boyfriend was totally right when he bought me this book for my birthday. I had heard a lot that this wasn’t the best Patrick Ness and I have to say I understood quite quickly why. I still had a great time and I absolutely don’t regret reading it. By the way, I have this super cool edition which glows in the dark. I had never seen a book like that before and I just realized it on the third or fourth day I was reading it, when I turned off all the lights and saw it on my reading table.

I really liked the concept of this unusual novel. The author decided not to follow the characters of the main plot but rather the “outsiders”, which means those we would not normally notice in a regular novel. The extras who are never chosen to save the world. Still, I had expected them to tell us about the “main plot” but Patrick Ness created a parallel plot which is rather common and barely mentions what would normally be the main plot. This did bother me a bit because only a few lines were dedicated to the true action at the beginning of each chapter. But the most annoying was the fact that it was written as an ironic plot. It really felt like reading a parody. In the end, the story of the characters developed by Patrick Ness is not very interesting and, even though I was never bored, I didn’t find it engaging either.

A very good idea but which wasn’t developed as I would have wished. But at the same time, Patrick Ness managed to make me laugh several times with its very ironic tone. I didn’t expect to read a parody and I was a bit disappointed by the content of the book. However, I really liked how the characters were developed, particularly Mikey and his sister Mel, who moved me and make us realize that we all have our little – and big – flaws or issues. Through them, the readers understand that the most important is not always to be where the action is and that we all ask ourselves the same questions.

I think it would have made more justice to the story not to be too far-fetched and if the author had not insisted on making fun of all Young Adult clichés throughout the whole novel. There’s some good and bad but it is true that the plot wasn’t very elaborated and I would have liked it to be as well developed as its characters. It is still a very nice book about teenage years and its difficulties, the life you can have in high school, friendship, love, etc. I’ll keep a good memory of it but I don’t think this will be the book I’ll remember the most out of all Patrick Ness novels, even though I’ll remember it for its originality.

Pages: 336

Price: $7.40. You can buy it here

Genre: Teen, Fantasy, Humour. Age 11+

Author: Patrick Ness

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Nous autres simples mortels

Quatrième de couverture : Et si vous n’étiez pas l’Élu ? Si vous n’étiez pas destiné à être un héros ? Celui qui est censé combattre les zombies, ou ce nouveau truc, là, complètement dingue, avec les lumières bleues. Il y a des choses tellement plus importantes que la énième fin du monde ! Si vous étiez comme Mikey ? Qui veut simplement avoir son bac, passer ce dernier été avec ses amis et, enfin, embrasser Henna (ou plus). Juste se sentir capable de découvrir l’extraordinaire dans sa vie si ordinaire…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Cela fait longtemps que ce roman était dans ma wishlist. J’ai dans mes objectifs de lire toutes les histoires de Patrick Ness, et mon copain a donc vu juste en m’offrant ce livre pour mon anniversaire ! J’avais beaucoup entendu dire que ce livre-ci était loin d’être le meilleur Patrick Ness et je dois dire que j’ai compris pourquoi assez rapidement, j’ai tout de même passé un bon moment et je ne regrette pas de l’avoir lu. D’ailleurs, j’ai une version en anglais méga cool car elle est phosphorescente. Je n’avais jamais vu un livre comme ça dans ma vie et je ne m’en suis d’ailleurs rendu compte qu’au bout de trois ou quatre jours dans ma lecture, lorsque je me suis tournée vers ma table de chevet après avoir éteint les lumières.

J’aimais beaucoup le concept de ce roman atypique. En effet, l’auteur prend le parti pris de ne pas suivre les personnages de l’histoire principale mais plutôt les « outsiders », c’est-à-dire ceux que l’on ne remarquerait pas vraiment dans un roman habituel. Les figurants qui ne sont jamais choisis pour sauver le monde. En revanche, je m’attendais tout de même à ce que les personnages nous racontent « l’intrigue principale » mais Patrick Ness a plutôt créé une toute autre intrigue plutôt banale en mentionnant à peine de temps à autre ce qui constituerait habituellement l’intrigue principale. Cela m’a un pas mal gênée car seules quelques lignes étaient dédiées à la véritable action au début de chaque chapitre. Mais le plus gênant pour moi était que cela était écrit sur un ton ironique. J’ai vraiment eu l’impression de lire une parodie. Au final, l’histoire des personnages développés par Patrick Ness n’est pas très intéressante et, bien que je ne me sois pas ennuyée, je n’ai pas trouvé ça très passionnant non plus.

Une très bonne idée mais qui n’a pas été développée comme je l’aurais souhaité. En même temps, Patrick Ness a réussi à me faire rire à plusieurs reprises avec son ton très ironique. Je ne m’attendais pas à lire une parodie, et j’ai été un peu déçue par le contenu. En revanche, j’ai vraiment apprécié le développement des personnages, notamment Mikey et sa sœur Mel, qui m’ont touchée et qui nous font réaliser que nous avons tous nos petits (et gros) défauts ou problèmes. A travers eux, les lecteurs se rendent compte que le plus important n’est pas toujours d’être au cœur de l’action et que l’on se pose toutes les mêmes questions.

Je pense que l’histoire aurait été mieux servie si tout n’était pas tiré par les cheveux et si le livre n’était pas obstiné à tourner en dérision tous les clichés du Young-Adult. Il y a du bon et du mauvais mais il est vrai que l’histoire n’est pas très recherchée et que j’aurais apprécié qu’elle soit aussi bien développée que ses personnages. Cela reste un très joli livre sur l’adolescence et ses difficultés, la vie que l’on peut vivre au lycée, l’amitié, l’amour, etc. J’en garderai un bon souvenir mais je ne pense pas que ce livre sera celui qui m’aura le plus marquée de Patrick Ness, même si je me souviendrai de son originalité.

Pages : 336

Prix : 16 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici. 

Genre : Adolescent, Fantastique, Humour. Age 11 +

Auteur : Patrick Ness

Note : 14 / 20

Leave a Reply

