REVIEW – CRITIQUE: All The Bright Places (Tous nos jours parfaits)



I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English, so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

All the bright places

Book description: Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might kill himself, but every day he also searches for—and manages to find—something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground— it’s unclear who saves whom. Soon it’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. . . .

So, what did I think about this book?

All The Bright Places had everything for me to enjoy it but unfortunately the story didn’t hook me at all. Yet, everyone has heard about it and it has become a reference in young-adult literature. Reviews are usually good and I’ve even heard about a movie, even if I wasn’t able to find a date nor reliable news about how this project is going.

It is about two teenagers who want to kill themselves at the beginning of the novel and meet each other by accident in the bell tower of their high school. I couldn’t believe in the characters nor their story and, when I saw the story didn’t interest me, I even asked myself if I weren’t too old for young-adult contemporaries. I don’t think I am, because I read other books of this genre recently and did really enjoy them. This book made me think of John Green’s books and, if you didn’t know it yet, I am not a big fan of the author.

The first problem I had with the characters was the fact that the author desperately tries to make them unique and original and this didn’t make them believable in my opinion. Finch keeps changing his personality every week and I mean, this isn’t depression he should be fighting against but he would rather need to be spent to a psychiatric hospital. Violet is a bit more “normal”, even though she is put on a pedestal for no apparent reason. It is a rather flat and uninteresting character, and I didn’t really enjoy the chapters from her point of view, because the story is told from the points of view of the two main characters. However, they don’t have anything in common and they’re not at all from the same social groups, Violet being rather popular and Finch being the “freak” of the high school. I found that their story went way too fast, especially given that it does not make sense to me. It is nice to want to make teenagers believe that this is absolutely normal, but it would probably not happen in real life. I found their friendship and their love story little convincing, without any connection, and devoid of meaning. There was no real reason to add this love story in this novel about depression and this felt forced and unrealistic.

All these reasons resulted in me not being really interested in the story development, which had a shallow plot. All the action was about a school project that leads them to discover Indiana with small trips. For my part, I didn’t find this very fascinating. Bullying is also mentioned in the book, and it might be one of the aspects that interested me the most. It is a topic that is well-dealt with, unlike many other topics of the novel, and I am glad I found topics that also managed to convince me.

The only thing I really enjoyed in the novel is the ending that I found more realistic than the rest. This remains a sad ending, but I tend to enjoy sad endings in contemporaries. It managed to move me and didn’t leave me with a bitter taste when I closed my book. I faced more difficulties with the way the story is told, I felt like Finch’s story was more important to tell than Violet’s, but she ended up being more important in the novel. Not everything was bad, but I saw a commercial aspect to the novel that didn’t make me want to discover more novels of the author.

Pages: 416

Price: $6.86. You can buy it here. 

Genre: Young-Adult, Contemporary, Depression. Age +13

Author: Jennifer Niven

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Tous nos jours parfaits

Quatrième de couverture : Quand Violet et Finch se rencontrent, ils sont au bord du vide, en haut de la tour du lycée, décidés à en finir avec la vie. Finch est la «bête curieuse» de l’école. Il oscille entre les périodes d’accablement, dominées par des idées morbides et les phases «d’éveil» où il déborde d’énergie. De son côté, Violet avait tout pour elle. Mais, neuf mois plus tôt, sa sœur adorée est morte dans un accident de voiture. La survivante a perdu pied, s’est isolée et s’est laissé submerger par la culpabilité. Pour Violet et Finch, c’est le début d’une histoire d’amour bouleversante : l’histoire d’une fille qui réapprend à vivre avec un garçon qui veut mourir.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Tous nos jours parfaits avait tout pour me séduire, mais malheureusement je suis complètement passée à côté de ce livre qui fait beaucoup parler de lui. Devenu une véritable référence dans le monde du young-adult, les avis sont généralement très positifs et on parle même d’un film, même si je n’ai pas réussi à trouver de date ou d’éléments fiables sur l’avancée de ce dernier.

On y suit deux adolescents qui ont envie de se suicider au début du roman et se retrouvent par hasard sur le clocher du lycée. Je n’ai pas réussi à croire aux personnages ni à leur histoire et, lorsque j’ai vu que je me désintéressais complètement du roman, je me suis même demandé si je n’avais pas passé l’âge des contemporains young-adult. Je ne pense pas que cela soit le cas, car j’en ai lu d’autres encore récemment que j’ai beaucoup apprécié. Ce roman m’a fait penser à du John Green et comme vous le savez peut-être je ne suis pas une grande fan de cet auteur.

Le premier problème que j’ai eu au niveau des personnages est que l’autrice cherche à tout prix à les rendre originaux, ce qui les rend au final peu crédibles à mon goût. Finch change de personnalité toutes les semaines et je veux dire, à ce niveau-là, ce n’est plus des cachets contre la dépression qu’il faudrait prendre mais c’est plutôt l’hôpital psychiatrique qu’il faudrait. Violet est un peu plus “normale”, bien qu’elle soit placée sur un piédestal sans que je n’arrive à trouver une bonne raison à cela. C’est un personnage plutôt plat et inintéressant, et j’ai peu apprécié les chapitres de son point de vue, car l’histoire est racontée depuis le point de vue de chacun des deux personnages principaux. En revanche, ils n’ont rien en commun et n’appartiennent pas du tout aux mêmes groupes, Violet étant plutôt populaire au contraire de Finch qui est un peu le « freak » du lycée. J’ai trouvé que leur histoire se développait beaucoup trop vite, d’autant plus qu’elle n’a que très peu de raisons d’être à mon goût. C’est bien beau de vouloir faire croire aux adolescents que cela est tout à fait normal, mais il y aurait très peu de chances que cela arrive dans la vraie vie. J’ai trouvé leur histoire d’amitié tout comme l’histoire d’amour peu convaincante, sans aucune alchimie, et vide de sens. Il n’y avait aucune raison d’ajouter cette romance dans ce roman sur la dépression et cela m’a semblé forcé et peu réaliste.

Toutes ces raisons font que je ne me suis pas intéressée au développement de l’histoire, dont j’ai trouvé l’intrigue très légère. L’action tourne autour d’un projet scolaire qui les pousse à découvrir l’Indiana à travers de courts voyages. Personnellement, je n’y ai rien trouvé de fascinant. On parle également de harcèlement scolaire dans cette histoire, et c’est peut-être l’un des aspects qui m’a le plus intéressée. C’est un thème qui est plutôt bien traité, au contraire de nombreux autres sujets du roman, et heureusement que j’ai pu trouver certaines parties qui ont également su me convaincre.

La seule chose qui m’a vraiment plu dans ce roman est la fin que j’ai trouvé un peu plus réaliste que le reste. Cela reste une fin triste, mais j’ai tendance à aimer les fins tristes pour les contemporains. Elle a su me toucher et m’a laissé un meilleur goût au moment de fermer mon bouquin. J’ai en revanche eu plus de mal sur la façon dont l’histoire est racontée, j’avais l’impression que l’histoire de Finch était plus importante à raconter que celle de Violet, et c’est pourtant elle qui a pris le rôle principal du roman. Tout n’était pas mauvais, mais j’ai trouvé un aspect trop commercial à ce roman qui ne m’a pas donné envie de découvrir d’autres histoires de l’autrice.

Pages : 384

Prix : 17,50 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici. 

Genre : Young-Adult, Contemporain, Dépression. Age +13

Auteur :  Jennifer Niven

Note : 10 / 20

Sans titre

4 thoughts on “REVIEW – CRITIQUE: All The Bright Places (Tous nos jours parfaits)

  1. veryhappybeing says:

    I enjoyed your book review although I have quite a contrary opinion to yours. I thought the book was very interesting and although I agree that parts of the book weren’t as believable as I would have liked, I thought on a whole it was a good read and recommendable. However I enjoyed hearing what you had to say about the book.!

  2. argenticfairiesentreleslignes says:

    Ça me rassure je n’ai absolument pas aimé ma lecture non plus. Je n’ai rien éprouvé pour les personnages, je ne m’y suis pas du tout attaché. J’en avais entendu beaucoup de bien et j’ai été très déçu ne n’ai vraiment pas accroché =/ .

Leave a Reply

