Review – Critique : Percy Jackson 5

percy

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

You should read the first four books before reading this review.

Vous devriez avoir lu les quatre premiers livres avant de lire cette critique.

English

Percy Jackson and The Olympians – The Last Olympian (book 5)

Book description: All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds are against them. Kronos is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, his power only grows. In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling series, the prophecy surrounding Percy’s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.

So, what did I think about this book?

Hello guys! I’m sorry it’s been a while since I wrote my last review but I went back to school and this means less free time, more homework, less time to read and less time to write on my blog. But, I’ll do my best to write as often as I can.

So, here it is! My last Percy Jackson’s review. I had a wonderful time reading that series. Rick Riordan made me travel to the world he created, the world of Gods and demigods, of Camp Half-Blood and Mount Olympus.

I loved almost all the characters (except Rachel and Thalia). I really couldn’t stand Rachel in that last book, I don’t know why. Maybe because I totally wanted to see Percy and Annabeth together. It was a perfect last book for the series. There was a big battle, a lot of suspense, like in every last book of a series. I really appreciated the fact that you weren’t sure who was going to win the battle, there were as many deaths among the demigods from camp half-blood as on the enemy’s side. There were the love stories I wanted to read more about. And I also really enjoyed the fact that the author gave us the name of every street where they were fighting, if you go on google maps, you can really imagine the fight and even draw it.

You also learn pretty soon that there is someone spying for Kronos in Camp Half-Blood, a lot of characters look suspicion and you’re constantly wondering who the spy can be. You learn a lot about Luke, his family and his past. The plot is really well constructed.

It was quite realistic, not all the heroes survive this battle (I hate it when all the characters go into a fight but no one seems to get hurt). The end was a little too much of a happy ending, that’s when you remember it is a children’s book but I was satisfied with the end of the story. I was even sad to say goodbye to Percy, his friends and Camp Half-Blood.

Now that I’ve read the whole series, I’m going to make a more general review of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and not only about one book. First of all, it’s always nice to read a series where you see the heroes grow up, they’re one year older in every book. You see the difference between a naïve twelve years old little boy and a teenager who’s 16, who has taken part in a lot of battles and have learned to see the world differently. What I also love about the story written by Rick Riordan is that it tells you there’s always another way to see the world; that humans want to give a rational explanation to everything and that magic can be in our lives without us seeing it. Percy Jackson who had dyslexia, an attention deficit disorder and caused trouble everywhere he went, became a great hero. It teaches children that you are always good at something even if nobody seems to think you will succeed in life.

I always admire this ability to create another world in our world and to give explanations to everything you write.

I loved the way the author wrote, especially the fact that we had Percy telling his own story as a narrator, I will definitely try to read other books by Rick Riordan. If you have the occasion of reading the series, don’t hesitate. There isn’t a book I particularly prefer among the series. This won’t be my favorite series but they’re really worth reading.

Pages: 416

Price: $6.78. You can buy it here.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Français

Percy Jackson – Le dernier Olympien (tome 5)

Résumé : Toute l’année, Percy et son armée de demi-dieux se sont préparés à affronter les Titans. L’heure est venue. Les troupes de Cronos avancent vers Manhattan où l’Olympe est en danger. Tandis que Percy et ses amis luttent, ils savent que le temps est compté. La prophétie va s’accomplir : Percy prendra une décision qui condamnera ou sauvera le monde. Mais cette décision, quelle est-elle ?

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Bonsoir, tout le monde ! Je suis désolée, ça fait un bout de temps que j’ai écrit ma dernière critique mais j’ai repris les cours et ça veut dire moins de temps libre, plus de boulot, moins de temps pour lire et moins de temps pour m’occuper de mon blog. Mais je vais faire de mon mieux pour écrire aussi souvent que je pourrais.

Eh bien voilà, on y est ! Ma dernière critique sur Percy Jackson. J’ai passé un excellent moment à lire cette saga. Rick Riordan m’a fait voyager dans le monde qu’il a créé, celui des Dieux et des demi-dieux, du camp des sang-mêlé et du Mont Olympe.

J’ai aimé quasiment tous les personnages (à part Rachel et Thalia). Je ne pouvais vraiment pas supporter Rachel dans ce dernier livre, je ne sais pas pourquoi. Peut-être parce que je voulais absolument que Percy et Annabeth sortent ensemble. C’était un dernier livre parfait pour la saga. Il y avait une grande bataille, beaucoup de suspense, comme dans chaque fin de saga. J’ai beaucoup apprécié le fait que l’on ne soit pas vraiment certain du gagnant de la bataille, il y avait autant de morts du côté des demi-dieux du camp des sang-mêlé que du côté de l’ennemi. Il y avait les histoires d’amour que je voulais voir. Et j’ai aussi aimé le fait que l’auteur nous donne le nom de chaque rue où ils se battent, si l’on va sur google maps, on peut vraiment imaginer la bataille et même la dessiner.

On apprend assez vite que quelqu’un espionne pour le compte de Cronos au camp des sang-mêlé, beaucoup de personnages paraissent suspect et on se demande constamment qui peut bien être cet espion. On en apprend beaucoup sur Luke, sa famille et son passé. L’intrigue est très bien construite.

C’était assez réaliste, pas tous les héros ne survivent à ce combat (je déteste ça, quand les personnages vont tous se battre mais que personne ne semble être blessé). La fin était un peu trop « happy ending » ou tout finit pour le mieux, c’est là qu’on se rappelle que c’est un livre pour enfants mais j’étais plutôt contente de la fin. J’étais même triste de dire au revoir à Percy, à ses amis et à la colonie des sang-mêlé.

Maintenant que j’ai lu la saga entière, je vais faire une critique plus générale sur Percy Jackson et non pas sur un livre particulier. Tout d’abord, c’est toujours sympa de lire une série de livres où l’on voit les héros grandir, ils ont un an de plus dans chaque tome. On voit la différence entre un petit garçon naïf de 12 ans et un adolescent de 16 ans qui a participé à beaucoup de combats et qui a appris à voir le monde différemment. Ce que j’aime aussi dans l’histoire écrite par Rick Riordan, c’est qu’elle vous raconte qu’il y a toujours une autre manière de voir le monde, que les humains aiment donner des explications rationnelles à tout et que la magie peut être présente dans nos vies sans que nous ne la voyons. Percy Jackson qui souffrait de dyslexie, d’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention et causait des problèmes partout où il allait est devenu un grand héros. Cela apprend aux enfants que l’on est toujours doué pour quelque chose même si tout le monde semble croire que l’on ne réussira pas dans la vie.

J’admire toujours ce don pour créer un autre monde dans le nôtre et pour donner des explications à tout ce que l’on écrit.

J’ai aimé la manière dont l’auteur écrit, surtout le fait que Percy nous raconte sa propre histoire en tant que narrateur, je vais essayer de lire d’autres livres de Rick Riordan. Si vous avez l’occasion de lire cette saga, ne passez pas à côté. Je n’ai pas de livre particulièrement préféré dans la série. Ce n’est pas ma saga préférée mais elle vaut vraiment le coup d’être lue.

Pages: 416

Prix : 6,56 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note : 17/20

Enjoy the book! Bonne lecture!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.