REVIEW – CRITIQUE: SHATTER ME, 2 (INSAISISSABLE, TOME 2)

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. This review is about the second book in a series and might contain spoilers from the first book. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu. Il s’agit d’une chronique sur le deuxième tome d’une saga et elle peut contenir des spoilers concernant le premier tome).

ENGLISH

SHATTER ME, BOOK 2: Unravel me

Book description: It should have taken Juliette a single touch to kill Warner. But his mysterious immunity to her deadly power has left her shaken, wondering why her ultimate defense mechanism failed against the person she most needs protection from. She and Adam were able to escape Warner’s clutches and join up with a group of rebels, many of whom have powers of their own. Juliette will finally be able to actively fight against The Reestablishment and try to fix her broken world. And perhaps these new allies can help her shed light on the secret behind Adam’s—and Warner’s—immunity to her killer skin.

So, what did I think about this book?

Despite the fact that I moved to Spain for my first job as a translator, I haven’t forgotten that I was late on my reviews and I have put myself to work as soon as I had a bit of free time to write this one. Overall, I had been disappointed by the first book of this dystopian series but the last fifty pages had managed to convince me to start the second one without taking a break.

This story is about Juliette, a seventeen-year-old girl who spent her teenage years in an asylum because she can kill someone by just touching them. The first book was basically all about her relationship with Adam, her guard cell, and her meeting Warner, the leader of the military unit Juliette was in, but Juliette and Adam had managed to escape and find the headquarter of the rebel resistance at the end of the first book. No need to say that this second book is a lot more interesting because it is about the rebel resistance, there are new characters, and we learn a lot about the Reestablishment (the government of this dystopian society) and the society itself.

Still, I’ve had some trouble with the novel that made it impossible for me to enjoy it fully. The first issue I’ve had with this novel is that Juliette is unbearable. Since the beginning of the first book, she’s completely hysterical, unstable and depressed. Of course, it’s due to the fact that she’s been set aside from society ever since she was a child, but I cannot deal with a protagonist who is like that. Fortunately, she’s getting more peaceful throughout the novel and her character is getting better. She slowly learns how not to always feel sorry for herself and this is when she starts being interesting as a protagonist.

Once again, I had issues with the peculiar writing style I had mentioned in my review of the first book: unfinished sentences, a lack of punctuation, some parts erased, etc. This is all due to the fact that the author writes as Juliette would think and not in a more traditional way. And of course, I still can’t stand the relationship between Juliette and Adam, both of them are real drama queens and I was just so happy when the action started getting more important than this relationship that can be quite annoying for the readers.

I was happy to learn more about how Omega Point works, the rebel resistance where we learn that Juliette is not the only one with special abilities. I really enjoyed Castle, the leader of this place, and Kenji, a soldier from the same unit as Adam about whom we learn quite a lot. I was also nicely surprised by Warner, he wasn’t credible at all as a villain in my opinion, and even though it is not yet a radical change, I was glad to learn more about him and the love triangle that is being established between the three of them seems a lot more credible now that we know more about this character.

In my opinion, the second book is better than the first one, and the flaws that had really annoyed me in the first novel are less present. I had issues with Juliette but the other characters feel more credible and I am glad that the plot is more elaborate than it was at the beginning.

Pages: 496

Price: $5.64. You can buy it here. 

Genre: Young-Adult, Dystopia, Sci-fi. Age 12+

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

INSAISISSABLE, TOME 2 : NE M’échappe pas

Quatrième de couverture : Juliette se réfugie au Point Oméga, le quartier général de la résistance. Cette forteresse souterraine et ultra-moderne cache les gens dotés de pouvoirs extraordinaires. Pourtant, son toucher mortel fait toujours d’elle un paria.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Malgré mon déménagement en Espagne pour mon premier poste en tant que traductrice, je n’ai pas oublié les chroniques que j’ai en retard et je m’y mets dès aujourd’hui, lors de mon premier après-midi un peu libre. J’avais été globalement déçue par le premier tome de cette saga dystopique mais les cinquante dernières pages avaient réussi à me convaincre de me lancer dans le deuxième tome sans marquer de pause.

On suit dans cette histoire Juliette, une jeune fille de dix-sept ans qui a passé son adolescence emprisonnée dans un asile à cause de son pouvoir de tuer simplement en touchant une personne. Alors que le premier tome suivait pratiquement seulement sa relation amoureuse avec Adam, son garde de cellule, ainsi que sa rencontre avec Warner, le dirigeant de la section militaire dans laquelle Juliette se trouvait, Juliette et Adam avait réussi à s’échapper et à trouver une résistance rebelle vers la fin du roman. Forcément, le deuxième tome est beaucoup plus intéressant puisqu’on suit la résistance, que l’on découvre de nouveaux personnages, et que l’on en apprend beaucoup plus sur le Rétablissement (le gouvernement de cette société dystopique) ainsi que sur la société en elle-même.

En revanche, j’ai tout de même quelques points négatifs qui m’ont empêchée d’apprécier pleinement le roman. Tout d’abord, Juliette est insupportable. Sur tout le début de ce deuxième tome, elle est complètement hystérique, mentalement instable, et dépressive. C’est forcément dû au fait qu’elle a passé son adolescence en dehors de la société, mais je ne peux pas supporter un tel caractère pour un personnage principal. Heureusement, elle se calme peu à peu et son personnage se développe pour le mieux au fur et à mesure de l’avancée du roman. Elle apprend à moins s’apitoyer sur son sort et c’est à partir de ce moment qu’elle devient un personnage un minimum intéressant.

J’ai à nouveau eu du mal avec le style d’écriture un peu spécial que j’avais mentionné dans ma chronique du premier tome : des phrases non terminées, une absence de ponctuation, des morceaux barrés, etc. En effet, l’autrice écrit au fil des pensées de Juliette et il ne s’agit pas d’une écriture classique. Et bien sûr, la relation entre Juliette et Adam continue de m’agacer tout autant, ces deux personnages sont de véritables drama queens et j’ai apprécié le moment où l’action a pris le dessus sur cette relation qui est presque étouffante pour le lecteur.

J’ai apprécié découvrir le fonctionnement de Point Oméga, la résistance où l’on découvre que Juliette n’est pas la seule à avoir des pouvoirs un peu spéciaux. J’ai particulièrement apprécié Castle, le chef de cette résistance, et Kenji, un soldat de la même unité qu’Adam que l’on apprend à mieux connaître. Un personnage qui m’a agréablement surprise a été Warner, il n’était pas du tout crédible en tant que méchant à mon goût, et même si ce n’est pas encore une transformation radicale, j’ai apprécié en savoir plus à son sujet et le triangle amoureux qui prend place peu à peu me semble bien plus crédible avec cette facette du personnage.

A mon goût, le deuxième tome est meilleur que le premier, et les défauts qui m’avaient vraiment dérangée lors du premier tome se sont un peu estompés. J’ai du mal avec Juliette mais les autres personnages me semblent de plus en plus crédibles et je suis heureuse que l’intrigue soit un peu plus développée que lors du premier tome.

Pages : 524

Prix : 7 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Young-Adult, Dystopie, Science-fiction. Age 12+

Auteur : Tahereh Mafi

Note : 14/20

Sans titre

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.