Review – Critique : The Dark Is Rising Sequence, 2 (À l’assaut des ténèbres)

Book detail - BookRecommender

two stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. This review is about the second book in a series and it might contain some spoilers from the previous book. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu. Cette chronique concerne le tome 2 d’une saga et peut contenir des éléments de l’intrigue des tomes précédents).

ENGLISH

The Dark is Rising Sequence, Book 2: The Dark is Rising

Book description: On the Midwinter Day that is his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers a special gift — that he is the last of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping the world from domination by the forces of evil, the Dark. At once, he is plunged into a quest for the six magical Signs that will one day aid the Old Ones in the final battle between the Dark and the Light. And for the twelve days of Christmas, while the Dark is rising, life for Will is full of wonder, terror, and delight.

So, what did I think about this book?

I had been disappointed by the first book, but still, I decided to read the second one and to give a chance to this series of books that I had been interested in for so long. The second book of the series is the only one that has been translated into French (just because of the movie) but the rest of the series is unavailable in France. Still, I have read it in English, like the first book.

The same thing as in Narnia happens with this book: there is not much in common between the first and the second book. They are set in two different times, and they are about different characters. There is just one character in common, but the books can be read independently from each other.

I was a bit more interested by this second book. I already knew the main plot given that I had seen the movie, and I knew the characters. I don’t know if it is because I saw the movie so long ago or for another reason, but I don’t feel like the movie was really faithful to the book. In any case, when I read the book, I did not recognize all that much from the movie. I have seen a few reviews stating that the movie was very “Americanized” and maybe that is why it does not match that much my memories of it.

Overall, I didn’t think that this book was more thrilling than the first one. I did not connect with Will nor his quest. In my opinion, the characters were dull, the conversations, very clumsy and the descriptions were not realistic at all. Maybe I don’t have such a great imagination, but I was just unable to picture the scenery and what happened. It took me long weeks to manage finishing it and, in short, I just missed out on the plot.

I am truly disappointed. As I had mentioned in my review of the first book, when I had seen the movie many years ago, I had thought something extremely interesting lied behind this adaptation. I had not been this eager to start a new book series in quite a while. Unfortunately, it looks like I didn’t engage in the author’s universe.

Pages: 320

Price: $7.99. You can buy it here.

Genre: Children’s book, Fantasy, Adventure. Age 9+

Author: Susan Cooper

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

The Dark is Rising Sequence, tome 2 : Les portes du temps : À l’assaut des Ténèbres

Quatrième de couverture : Pour son onzième anniversaire, Will Stanton, petit dernier d’une famille de neuf enfants, voulait simplement qu’il neige. Mais ce qui lui est révélé ce jour-là va bouleverser sa vie à jamais : il est le dernier des Grands Anciens, ces immortels au service de la Lumière qui luttent contre les Ténèbres. Il détient des pouvoirs prodigieux et a été choisi pour réaliser une tâche périlleuse dont l’enjeu n’est autre que la survie du monde. Il lui faudra combattre ses propres peurs, apprendre à reconnaître les ennemis des alliés et même risquer la vie de sa famille. Face aux puissances obscures qui ont juré sa perte, Will parviendra-t-il à accomplir sa quête ?

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Après la déception du premier tome, j’ai tout de même décidé de me lancer dans le deuxième tome et de laisser sa chance à cette saga qui m’avait attirée depuis si longtemps. Il faut savoir que le tome 2 est le seul à avoir été traduit de cette saga et que vous pourrez donc retrouver en français. Pourquoi uniquement le tome 2 ? Car c’est également le seul qui a bénéficié d’une adaptation cinématographique.

Comme dans Narnia, il y a peu de rapport entre le tome 1 et le 2, qui se passent à deux époques différentes avec des personnages différents. On retrouve seulement un des personnages en commun, mais ils peuvent parfaitement se lire indépendamment l’un de l’autre.

Ce tome 2 me parlait un peu plus, car je connaissais déjà l’intrigue de base après avoir vu le film, ainsi que les personnages. Pourtant, je ne sais pas si c’est parce que j’ai vu le film il y a très longtemps ou pour une autre raison, mais je n’ai pas l’impression qu’il ait été très fidèle au livre. En tout cas, en lisant le livre, je n’ai pas tout reconnu de ce que j’avais vu. J’ai lu dans certains avis que le film avait été très « américanisé », c’est peut-être là la raison pour laquelle il ne me semblait pas très ressemblant.

Dans tous les cas, je n’ai pas trouvé ce tome-ci plus passionnant que le premier. Je ne me suis pas intéressée à Will, ni à sa quête. J’ai trouvé les personnages plats, les conversations un peu lourdes, et les descriptions peu réalistes. Je ne sais pas si je manque d’imagination, mais j’ai été incapable de bien visualiser les décors et les scènes. J’ai mis de longues semaines à venir à bout de ma lecture et, en bref, je suis passée complètement à côté de l’intrigue.

C’est une véritable déception pour moi. Comme je l’avais précisé dans mon avis du premier tome, lorsque j’avais vu le film il y a de nombreuses années, je m’étais dit que quelque chose de très intéressant semblait se cacher derrière. Cela faisait longtemps que je n’avais pas eu aussi hâte de me plonger dans une nouvelle saga. Malheureusement, je ne semble pas avoir accroché à l’univers de l’autrice.

Pages : 400

Prix : 11,75 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Littérature jeunesse, Aventure, Fantastique. Age 9+

Auteur : Susan Cooper

Note : 9/20

Sans titre

2/6

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.