REVIEW – CRITIQUE : Legends & Lattes, 1 (Légendes et Lattes)

4 étoiles très bonne lecture avis

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French, so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français).

ENGLISH

Legends & Lattes, book 1

Book description: After a lifetime of bounties and bloodshed, Viv is hanging up her sword for the last time. The battle-weary orc aims to start fresh, opening the first ever coffee shop in the city of Thune. But old and new rivals stand in the way of success — not to mention the fact that no one has the faintest idea what coffee actually is. If Viv wants to put the blade behind her and make her plans a reality, she won’t be able to do it alone. But the true rewards of the uncharted path are the travelers you meet along the way. And whether drawn together by ancient magic, flaky pastry, or a freshly brewed cup, they may become partners, family, and something deeper than she ever could have dreamed.

So, what did I think about this book?

Legends & Lattes was my last read of the year. I wasn’t familiar with this novel at all, although when I got my hands on it, I immediately recognized the illustration I’d seen on Instagram. A friend gave it to me for my birthday and, when I saw that it was a cosy read, I thought it was exactly what I needed for the Christmas holidays. I found the novel adorable, especially the little illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, which change according to the content of the chapter, as well as the recipe at the end of the novel, which I can’t wait to try!

I struggled a bit at the beginning of the novel, which I read in English, as the first few chapters focus a lot on the renovation work and the opening of the café. This is vocabulary that I have absolutely no knowledge of in English, so I felt a bit like I was skimming over the pages. After that, I quickly became attached to the characters, who are simply adorable and well-developed. Even if they’re a little naive or ingenuous, I found them quite moving.

There’s just the right amount of mystery, fantasy, plot twists and romance throughout the novel. But above all, we follow the opening and growth of Viv’s café. I loved how each element was gradually added to the restaurant’s menu, which at first was limited to two options: a coffee or a latte. It’s quite funny to see elements that we’re used to in everyday life being inserted into a fantasy novel. I also really enjoyed watching Viv’s little “family” come together. I think it’s a cute book and exactly what you’d expect from a cosy fantasy. Overall, I had a good time.

And for those who enjoy more battles and missions in fantasy, the bonus chapter should win you over! This is a pleasant, comforting read, which can be enjoyed at any time of year, but particularly when the weather is a little cooler and you can pair it with a nice hot drink.

Pages: 304

Price: $10.36. You can buy it here

Genre: Fantasy, Cosy Mystery, LGBT, Found Family.

Author: Travis Baldree

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

TW: stalking, violence, arson, blood, sexual harassment, death.

FRANÇAIS

Légendes & Lattes, tome 1

Quatrième de couverture : Viv, une orc mercenaire au passé sanglant, décide de changer de vie. À l’aide d’une légendaire pierre censée lui apporter la bonne fortune, elle se lance dans une entreprise audacieuse : la création d’un café. Un pari risqué, car dans la ville de Tuine, les elfes, lutins et autres ratelins ignorent tout de ce breuvage peu ragoûtant. Et lorsque les hommes de main du Madrigal, la mafia locale, viennent s’en mêler, et que l’un de ses anciens compagnons d’armes rôde alentour, Viv sait d’expérience que son aventure ne se déroulera pas sans embûches… Aux côtés d’une succube très perspicace, d’un hobgobelin mutique et de divers alliés improbables, Viv devra réussir à se tailler une place dans un monde qui lui est inconnu, tout en protégeant coûte que coûte ce qui compte le plus pour elle.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Légendes & Lattes a été ma dernière lecture de l’année. Je ne connaissais pas du tout ce roman, même si quand je l’ai eu entre mes mains, j’ai reconnu immédiatement l’illustration que j’avais vu passer sur Instagram. C’est un ami qui me l’a offert pour mon anniversaire et, en voyant que c’était une lecture cosy, je me suis dit que c’était exactement ce qu’il me fallait pour les fêtes de Noël. J’ai trouvé le roman adorable, en particulier les petites illustrations au début de chaque chapitre, qui changent selon le contenu du chapitre, ainsi que la recette à la fin du roman qu’il me tarde d’essayer !

J’ai eu un peu de mal au début du roman, que j’ai lu en anglais, car les premiers chapitres se concentrent beaucoup sur les travaux de rénovation et l’ouverture du café. C’est du vocabulaire que je ne possède absolument pas en anglais et j’ai donc eu quelque peu l’impression de survoler les pages. Après ça, je me suis vite attachée aux personnages, qui sont tout simplement adorables et bien développés. Mêmes s’ils sont un peu naïfs ou ingénus, ils ont su me toucher.

Il y a la juste dose de mystère, de fantasy, de rebondissements et de romance dans tout le roman. Mais surtout, on suit l’ouverture et le développement du café de Viv. J’ai beaucoup aimé comment chaque élément s’ajoutait peu à peu à la carte du restaurant, au tout début cantonnée à deux options : un café ou un latte. C’est assez marrant de voir des éléments auxquels nous sommes habitués au quotidien s’insérer dans un roman de fantasy. J’ai aussi beaucoup aimé voir la petite « famille » de Viv se construire. Je pense que c’est un livre mignon et que c’est exactement ce qu’on attend d’un cosy fantasy. J’ai passé un bon moment dans l’ensemble.

Et pour ceux qui aiment davantage les combats et les missions dans la fantasy, le chapitre bonus devrait vous séduire ! C’est une lecture agréable et réconfortante, qui peut être lue à tout moment de l’année, mais particulièrement quand il fait un peu plus frais et que vous pouvez l’accompagner d’une bonne boisson chaude.

Pages : 336

Prix : 19,95 €. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Fantasy, cosy mystery, LGBT, famille choisie.

Auteur : Travis Baldree

Note : 16 / 20

TW : traque, violence, incendie criminel, sang, harcèlement sexuel, mort.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.