Review – Critique: The Selection (La Sélection)

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Book description: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

So, what did I think about this book?

Hi, guys!

Here is my review of The Selection by Kiera Cass. I didn’t especially want to read that book but a friend lent it to me and I had seen pretty good reviews so I was happy to read it. I was very disappointed. First of all, if you pay attention to it, it is written with a very big font and there are so many dialogues that you don’t have a lot to read, I’ve found the novel very short. I read it only in four days and I didn’t have time to read a lot.

The ideas are good, the writing is okay, but the dialogues are just horrible. They are not at all natural, if you try to read them aloud, you’ll see that you would never say this in real life. They look childish and sometimes idiot or useless. When I was reading the dialogues I felt like it was written for ten-year-old girls and not for young adults. Except from that, I would really have loved to know more about Ilea, the country the characters are living in. How does it work? How is it organized? You don’t learn enough about it. Even if the author tried to explain the country’s history in a clumsy way, with a history class.

Not a lot happens, that’s when you realize the book was really short. I didn’t hate the book, but I didn’t really appreciate it. The cover is absolutely gorgeous, I had wanted to read it when I saw it in a bookshop but it was quite expensive. Before reading it, I had also seen a lot of reviews comparing it to the Hunger Games but I don’t see how you can compare it to the Hunger Games. When I was reading the Hunger Games, I was feeling I was in the story, the characters were amazing and the story was perfect and written so well. But you really can’t compare The Selection to The Hunger Games. They have nothing in common except that they’re both dystopian novels. And I wouldn’t even call The Selection a dystopian novel, it’s a pseudo-dystopian novel.

I don’t understand why the author didn’t write the whole Selection in one novel, because I don’t see the point of having only a few candidates eliminated in the first book and the rest of them in the next novel. Seriously, there wasn’t that much going on. I won’t criticize it too much because I turned the pages very fast when I was reading and because I want to read the next book to know what happens. But I won’t buy it, I’ll wait for someone to lend it to me.

I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone, but maybe for girls under 13. And if my review didn’t discourage you, you should read it if you want to. But you’ll be disappointed. I would recommend reading it in a library or borrowing it to a friend, except if you really find the cover gorgeous and want it. It’s not that bad, but it’s not what I call a great book.

Pages: 352

Price: $8.78. You can buy it here. 

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

FRANÇAIS

Résumé : Elles sont trente-cinq jeunes filles : la Sélection s’annonce comme l’opportunité de leur vie. L’unique chance pour elles de troquer un destin misérable contre un monde de paillettes. L’unique occasion d’habiter dans un palais et de conquérir le coeur du prince Maxon, l’héritier du trône. Mais pour America Singer, cette sélection relève plutôt du cauchemar. Cela signifie renoncer à son amour interdit avec Aspen, un soldat de la caste inférieure. Quitter sa famille. Entrer dans une compétition sans merci. Vivre jour et nuit sous l’oeil des caméras… Puis America rencontre le Prince. Et tous les plans qu’elle avait échafaudés s’en trouvent bouleversés…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Voilà ma critique de La Sélection de Kiera Cass. Je n’avais pas particulièrement envie de lire ce livre mais une amie me l’a prêté et j’avais vu d’assez bonnes critiques alors j’étais plutôt enthousiaste. J’ai été très déçue. Tout d’abord, si on y prête attention, il est écrit avec une police énorme et il y a tellement de dialogues qu’il n’y a pas grand-chose à lire, j’ai trouvé le roman très court. Je l’ai lu en à peine quatre jours et je n’avais pas beaucoup de temps pour lire.

Les idées sont bonnes, l’écriture est passable, mais les dialogues sont tout simplement horribles. Ils sont tout sauf naturels, si vous essayez de les lire à voix haute, vous vous rendrez compte que vous ne diriez jamais ça dans le monde réel. Ils avaient l’air enfantin, et parfois idiot ou inutile. Lorsque je lisais les dialogues, j’avais l’impression de lire un livre pour petites filles de dix ans et non pas pour jeunes adultes. A part ça, j’aurais vraiment aimé en savoir plus à propos d’Illéa, le pays dans lequel les personnages habitent. Comment fonctionne-t-il ? Comment est-il organisé ? On en apprend trop peu dessus. Même si l’auteur a essayé d’expliquer l’histoire du pays d’une manière maladroite, à travers un cours d’histoire.

Peu de choses se passent, c’est là qu’on réalise que le livre était vraiment court. Je n’ai pas détesté cette lecture, mais je ne l’ai pas vraiment appréciée non plus. La couverture est absolument magnifique, j’avais voulu le lire dès que je l’avais vu en librairie mais il était assez cher. J’avais également vu pas mal de critiques le comparant avec les Hunger Games mais je ne vois pas comment on peut le comparer aux Hunger Games. Lorsque je lisais les Hunger Games, j’avais l’impression d’être dans l’histoire, les personnages étaient incroyables et l’histoire était parfaite et si bien écrite. Mais on ne peut vraiment pas comparer La Sélection aux Hunger Games. Ils n’ont rien en commun à part que ce sont des romans dystopiques. Et encore, La Sélection est un roman pseudo-dystopique.

Je ne comprends pas pourquoi l’auteur n’a pas écrit la Sélection entière en un tome, parce que je ne vois pas l’intérêt d’avoir seulement quelques candidates éliminées dans le premier tome et le reste dans le prochain. Vraiment, il n’y avait pas tellement de choses que ça dans ce tome. Rien qui empêchait de rajouter la suite en tout cas. Je ne vais pas trop le critiquer non plus parce j’ai tourné les pages assez rapidement pendant que je lisais et parce que j’ai envie de lire le prochain tome pour connaitre la suite. Mais je ne vais pas l’acheter, je vais attendre que quelqu’un veuille bien me le prêter.

Je ne vais pas le recommander à tout le monde, mais peut-être pour des filles qui ont moins de 13 ans. Et si ma critique ne vous a pas découragé, vous devriez le lire si vous en avez envie. Mais vous allez être déçu. Je vous conseillerai de le lire dans une bibliothèque ou de l’emprunter à une amie. Il n’est pas si mauvais, mais ce n’est pas ce que j’appelle un bon livre.

Pages : 344

Prix : 16,06 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note : 11/20

chall32petit

26 thoughts on “Review – Critique: The Selection (La Sélection)

  1. yashereads says:

    I read the ebook version. I didn’t really like the series itself tho the idea of the story is cute. I read this last year so I cant seem to recall how it is. Finishing the series, i hated America haha but everyone liked them. Cool review!:D

  2. Cess says:

    Je parlais des livres qui sont chroniqués par toute la blogosphère littéraire en même temps (et avant sa sortie officielle) : en voici l’exemple type.
    Trop d’avis partout, trop d’avis positifs, et un livre que je n’ai du coup pas lu.
    Ceci dit je suis allergique aux triangles amoureux et il semblerait que celui-ci persiste jusqu’au bout de la série. Pas pour moi donc.
    Ton avis me conforte dans mon choix. Si en plus le style et les dialogues sont nazes…

    • marinesbooks says:

      Le triangle amoureux est peu crédible en plus. Plus je me rappelle du livre et moins j’en ai de bons souvenirs. Je comprends qu’une avalanche d’avis ne donne pas très envie de lire le livre en question. Merci de m’avoir donné ton avis 🙂

    • marinesbooks says:

      Ahah, c’est pas grave, les avis peuvent être différents 🙂 Mais je suis habituée à lire ce genre de livres, et j’en ai lu de tellement mieux écrits que j’ai été forcément déçue. En tout cas, merci d’être venue lire ma critique!

  3. melissajr says:

    I had the same feelings while reading this novel. I wanted to love it because the cover is gorgeous, but as I was reading I couldn’t help myself from laughing at stuff that wasn’t supposed to be funny (that history class for example). And it is nothing like The Hunger Games! I agree that it could’ve been wrapped up into a single novel. Having said all that, with all its problems, it kept me turning the pages.

    I won’t be reading the next ones unless I can find them in a library, or the e-book editions are on sale for really cheap.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.