Review – Critique: Love and Peaches (Un amour de pêche)

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Book description: Together for another juicy summer, carefree Murphy, perfect Leeda, and big-hearted Birdie return to the place that allowed them to bloom. Brimming with all the charm, humor, and heart of Peaches andThe Secrets of Peaches, this satisfying conclusion to the series reunites three unlikely best friends for a final sweet farewell.

So, what did I think about this book?

I must admit I was disappointed by this last book. Even though the ending was very beautiful and the epilogue was so perfect and touching, the story line wasn’t as good as for the first two books in the series and I didn’t even feel the summer pass as before with all the summer workers and the spirit of summer at Birdie’s farm. It was really disappointing after the first two books that I loved so much. And I don’t know if it’s me or if something happened but I felt like the author didn’t spend as much time on this book, it wasn’t as well written as usually. I had a few issues with the translation too, which is weird because I found the translation was really good before.

It took me a ridiculously long time to finish it but I guess it’s just because I didn’t have much time to read and because I didn’t find it as interesting as before. Of course, I know that if you’ve read the first two books you have to read this one too, to get to the end of the story, but it’s too bad I’m going to have Peaches and love as my last memory for this series, I’m a bit less enthusiastic about it now. Anyway, the end of the series is wonderful and you totally understand it’s the last summer for the girls at the peach farm. I love it when you have a clear ending like that and don’t feel something is missing. I’ll remember Jodi Lynn Anderson’s characters as being almost real and the dialogues as being natural and lively. I was glad to go back to my childhood when I was reading them and to have read the last book at last, because I had read the first two books when I was about 13 but never bought the third one until now.

I absolutely recommend the trilogy even with a last book which is a little disappointing. The last chapters and the epilogue will satisfy all the fans.

Pages: 256

Price: $7.36.You can buy it here.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANCAIS

Un Amour de Pêche

Résumé: Birdie au coeur de guimauve ne sait plus si elle aime son beau Mexicain Enrico. Murphy la rebelle refuse obstinément de laisser l’amour gouverner sa vie ! Leeda la sage-qui-a-déjà-tout-prévu hérite de l’élevage de poneys de sa grand-mère… Pendant que les chagrins d’amour s’enchaînent et que les grandes décisions se prennent, les trois amies savent qu’elles peuvent compter les unes sur les autres…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Je dois avouer être un peu déçue par ce dernier tome. Même si la fin était vraiment belle et que l’épilogue était parfait et touchant, l’intrigue n’était pas terrible comparée aux deux premiers livres de la saga et je n’ai même pas vu l’été passer comme auparavant avec les saisonniers et l’esprit d’été dans la ferme de Birdie. C’était assez décevant après les deux premiers tomes que j’avais adoré. Et je ne sais pas si c’est moi ou si quelque chose s’est passé mais j’ai eu l’impression que l’auteure n’avait pas passé beaucoup de temps sur ce livre, ce n’était pas aussi bien écrit que d’habitude. J’ai eu quelques problèmes avec la traduction aussi, ce qui est bizarre vu que j’avais trouvé la traduction vraiment bonne avant. Et puis le titre n’est pas vraiment terrible en français.

Ça m’a pris un temps ridiculement long pour le terminer mais j’imagine que c’est tout simplement parce que je n’avais pas beaucoup de temps pour lire et que je ne trouvais pas l’histoire aussi intéressante qu’avant. Bien entendu, je sais que si vous avez lu les deux premiers tomes, vous devez lire celui-ci également, pour avoir une fin, mais c’est dommage qu’un Amour de Pêche soit mon dernier souvenir pour la saga, je suis un peu moins enthousiaste maintenant. De toute façon, la fin de la saga est merveilleuse et on comprend tout à fait que c’est le dernier été des filles au verger. J’aime avoir une fin claire comme ça où l’on n’a pas l’impression qu’il manque quelque chose. Je me rappellerai des personnages de Jodi Lynn Anderson comme presque réels et des dialogues naturels et vivants. J’étais contente de retourner en enfance en les lisant and d’avoir enfin lu la fin, car j’avais lu les deux premiers tomes quand j’avais environ 13 ans mais je n’avais jamais acheté le troisième livre jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Je recommande la trilogie à tout prix même si le dernier livre est un peu décevant, les derniers chapitres et l’épilogue satisferont tous les fans.

Pages: 293

Prix: 12,54 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Note: 15/20

Sans titre

chall32

12/35

11 thoughts on “Review – Critique: Love and Peaches (Un amour de pêche)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.