Review – critique: It’s Kind of a Funny Story (Tout plutôt qu’être moi)

four and a half star   I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Book description: Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner sees entry into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School as the ticket to his future. That’s when things start to get crazy. The stress becomes unbearable and Craig stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself. Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, isolated from the crushing pressures of school and friends, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety. Ned Vizzini, who himself spent time in a psychiatric hospital, has created a remarkably moving tale about the sometimes unexpected road to happiness. For a novel about depression, it’s definitely a funny story.

So, what did I think about this book?

I absolutely loved this novel. I had wanted to read it for a while because I thought the story looked interesting, and I am glad I finally got my hands on the book. I didn’t give it five stars because I didn’t fall for the main character, but the book is incredibly well-written, so I gave it almost a perfect rating.

What I loved most was how the story developed. First, we are in Craig’s daily life, and he is really in bad shape. I had trouble visualizing him because we are only told his age when he is in hospital. I knew he was a teenager but I had no idea if he was closer to fourteen or eighteen, so it was difficult to imagine the character. After that, we see him getting worse and worse, and finally getting into the hospital. When he is at the hospital, every day is told in detail, which is absolutely amazing, because you are able to meet all the patients on the floor and learn about all of their stories.

I appreciated the fact that the story never became tragic nor depressing. I read other books about depression, and they were pretty difficult to handle. But this novel, is light, and often kind of funny. The author writes in a way few writers could. While he expressed the true feelings of Craig, he manages to keep this story with a tough theme very light, with a lot of humor.

It is a truly beautiful story, with a lovely message of hope about depression and the way things can get better. The dialogs are incredibly well written and feel natural, which makes the story very real, as you can see it come alive before your eyes. The last chapter is just sublime, the author was a true poet.

I was impressed when I learn the novel was written in less than a month. A novel usually takes a lot of time. The author wrote about a theme he knew very well, as he suffered from depression himself. And he started writing it only days after he got out of the psychiatric hospital. I can imagine how proud the nurses and doctors who took care of him at the hospital were. Unfortunately, he killed himself two years ago. This is absolutely heart-breaking.

Now, I am going to see the movie adaptation that I have wanted to see for a while, but I wanted to read the book first, so that I could imagine the characters how I wanted to.

Pages: 444

Price: $6.02. You can buy it here

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Tout plutôt qu’être moi

Résumé : Comme beaucoup d’adolescents, Graig est bien décidé à réussir sa vie. Il intègre l’une des plus prestigieuses prépas de New York, de celles qui font de vous un homme important et assurent votre avenir. Seulement, au bout d’un an, il ne mange plus, ne dort plus, n’arrive plus à se lever, pense sans arrêt à ses devoirs, ses exams et à la jolie copine de son meilleur ami. Pour faire front à tout ça, il ne trouve d’autre solution que de fumer de l’herbe en glandant pendant des heures. Graig est pris dans une spirale d’anxiété, d’inquiétudes, de peurs qui l’acculent et le paralysent. Comment en est-il arrivé là ? Comment est-on poussé au point où la pression se fait tellement forte et nous, si faibles que la seule solution qui s’offre à nous, c’est d’en finir ? Dans ce roman tendre et émouvant, inspiré d’un séjour qu’il a effectué en hôpital psychiatrique, Ned Vizzini aborde ses propres démons, son long combat contre cette maladie qui l’accable depuis des années. D’un sujet aussi délicat et tabou que la dépression adolescente, Vizzini crée un livre tout à la fois drôle et empreint d’espoir.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

J’ai vraiment adoré ce roman. J’avais envie de le lire depuis un moment parce que l’histoire m’intéressait, et je suis contente d’en avoir eu l’occasion. Ce n’est pas un 20 / 20 parce que je n’ai pas eu de coup de cœur pour le personnage principal mais le  livre est incroyablement bien écrit, donc ce n’est pas loin de la note la plus élevée possible.

Ce que j’ai le plus aimé, ça a été la façon dont l’histoire s’est développée. D’abord, nous sommes face à un Craig qui va très mal dans sa vie quotidienne. J’ai eu du mal à le situer car on ne nous dit son âge que lorsqu’il est à l’hôpital. Je savais que c’était un adolescent, mais je ne savais pas s’il avait plutôt quatorze ou dix-huit ans et j’ai eu du mal à me l’imaginer en tant que personnage. Ensuite, on le voit aller de plus en plus mal et enfin, on le voit rentrer à l’hôpital. Et lorsqu’il est à l’hôpital, tout est raconté en détail journée par journée, ce qui est génial, car on y rencontre tous les patients de l’étage et leurs histoires.

J’ai surtout apprécié que l’histoire ne devienne jamais tragique ni déprimante. J’ai lu d’autres livres sur la dépression, qui avaient été douloureux à lire. Mais ce roman est au contraire léger, à souvent prendre à la rigolade. L’auteur adopte un ton que peu d’écrivains seraient capables d’adopter : tout en exprimant les véritables sentiments de Craig, il arrive à traiter une histoire au sujet difficile avec beaucoup de légèreté et d’humour.

C’est vraiment une très belle histoire, avec un beau message d’espoir sur la dépression et la façon dont les choses peuvent aller mieux. Les dialogues sont incroyablement bien écrits et paraissent extrêmement naturels, ce qui rend l’histoire réelle, on la voit prendre vie sous nos yeux. Le dernier chapitre est tout simplement sublime, l’auteur est pour moi un véritable poète.

J’ai été impressionnée de savoir que l’histoire a été écrite en moins d’un mois. Un roman, ça prend quand même beaucoup de temps normalement. L’auteur a écrit sur un thème qu’il connaissait bien, puisqu’il souffrait lui-même de dépression. Et l’écriture a été commencée quelques jours après sa sortie de l’hôpital psychiatrique. J’imagine la fierté de l’équipe qui l’a accompagné à l’hôpital. Malheureusement, il s’est suicidé il y a deux ans. C’est tellement triste car on pourrait croire qu’il avait repris goût à la vie

Maintenant, je cours regarder le film basé sur le roman, que j’ai envie de voir depuis un moment, mais je voulais lire le livre avant, surtout pour pouvoir imaginer les personnages comme je le voulais !

Pages : 397

Prix : 19 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici

Note : 19/20

Sans titre

5 thoughts on “Review – critique: It’s Kind of a Funny Story (Tout plutôt qu’être moi)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.