REVIEW – CRITIQUE: Release (Libération)

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu.)

ENGLISH

Release

Book description: Adam Thorn doesn’t know it yet, but today will change his life. Between his religious family, a deeply unpleasant ultimatum from his boss, and his own unrequited love for his sort-of ex, Enzo, it seems as though Adam’s life is falling apart.  At least he has two people to keep him sane: his new boyfriend (he does love Linus, doesn’t he?) and his best friend, Angela. But all day long, old memories and new heartaches come crashing together, throwing Adam’s life into chaos. The bindings of his world are coming untied one by one; yet in spite of everything he has to let go, he may also find freedom in the release. 

So, what did I think about this book?

I bought this book without planning to back in May, when I came across a signed copy in a bookshop during a short trip to London. I had no idea Patrick Ness had written a new book and there was no book description on the jack but, being a huge fan of the author, I just couldn’t leave without it.

You should know that this novel has two very different plots, even though they are happening in the same town. On one hand, it is about Adam, a gay teenager who is a preacher’s son. I loved most of this part, even though a few things kept me from totally enjoying it, but I’ll come back to this later. On the other hand, it is about the spirit of a murdered teenage girl who wakes up in the body of the Queen (?!). I have to say, I kept asking myself: “The Queen of what exactly?” while I was reading, and I didn’t like this part of the book which was too far-fetched for me. The only parts I found interesting where the ones about her murder.

As always, Patrick Ness’s writing is beautiful, both poetic and beautifully cynical. Sometimes a bit too poetic for me. Even though I speak English fluently, it is not my mother tongue and there were some parts where I could feel there was something more to it, but it is hard to understand everything with that kind of writing when it’s a foreign language for you.

I thought Adam was a very original and likeable character. He grew up in a small town where people are quite narrow-minded and where the fact that he is gay isn’t accepted by everyone. Especially not by his religious family and his father who is a preacher and prefers to turn a blind eye about the situation and to refuse to believe in his son’s homosexuality. Adam’s relationship with his brother is particularily interesting. His older brother truly believes in religion and seems to have a unhealthy relationship with Adam, enjoying the fact that he is his “parents ’favorite”. However, their family relations and the role of religion in this novel are far more complex than they seem. I loved Angela, Adam’s best friend who is always ready to defend him. The two boys in his life are also interesting characters: Enzo, the one who broke his heart and will never treat him as he deserves to, and Linus, madly in love with Adam, who is desperately trying to pick up the broken pieces without ever feeling like it’s enough for Adam.

All these topics are totally relevant and dealt with in a way that feels particularly accurate. Still, I think sexual relationships had a way too important part of the novel. I think it’s great to talk about sex in Young Adult literature, but I don’t think it is necessary for it to be mentioned that much. In my opinion, it didn’t bring anything to the story and it became quickly repetitive. It is definitely not a New Adult novel, but still, I’d say sex in mentioned on at least half the pages of this book. Some scenes or conversations are quite explicit for a novel that is recommended for readers aged 13 and more on the publisher’s website. If you would ask me about the main topics of the novel, sex would be among my first answers. I think it should be mentioned with more emphasis, because young readers might be embarrassed by the fact that sex is one of the main topics of the novel. There are a lot of homosexual scenes in this book, and it would be a shame to recommend it to readers who are too young because they could be ill-at-ease and not understand the real message of the story. I think it is necessary to be mature enough to read this book.

I enjoyed the fact that the story happens during one day only in Adam’s life. There are so many things to say about this single day that I wonder how writers can write about weeks or even months about their characters’ lives with the same number of pages! It is very original and dynamic. Patrick Ness says he was inspired by Mrs Dalloway written by Wirginia Wolfe and Forever by Judy Blume and he made me want to discover these two books. Overall, I have mixed feelings about this book, with a plot that I liked but found too repetitive and insistent about sex and another plot that I didn’t like at all.

Pages: 288

Price: $10.10. You can buy it here

Genre: Young-Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Fantasy. Age 14+

Author: Patrick Ness

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Libération

Quatrième de couverture : Un samedi d’été, dans une banlieue paumée. Adam Thorn ne le sait pas encore, mais sa vie est sur le point de basculer. Asphyxié par sa famille, harcelé par son boss, tiraillé par des sentiments contradictoires, gay, définitivement gay, Adam voudrait juste avoir le droit d’aimer. Pendant ce temps, au bord du lac, l’esprit d’une jeune fille assassinée se réveille, en quête de vengeance…L’un et l’autre trouveront-ils la libération à l’issue de cette intense et surnaturelle fichue journée ?

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

J’ai acheté ce livre sur un coup de tête en mai dernier, en trouvant un exemplaire dédicacé par hasard en librairie lors de mon voyage à Londres. Je n’étais pas au courant que Patrick Ness avait écrit un nouveau roman, et il n’y avait pas de résumé sur la couverture, mais étant une grande fan de cet auteur, je n’ai tout simplement pas pu passer à côté.

Il faut savoir que ce roman regroupe deux récits tout à fait différents, même s’ils se produisent dans la même ville. D’un côté, on suit Adam, un adolescent gay qui est fils de pasteur. J’ai adoré en grande partie ce récit, même s’il y a certains défauts qui m’ont empêchée de totalement apprécier ma lecture, mais je reviendrai dessus plus tard. D’un autre côté, on suit l’esprit d’une jeune fille assassinée qui se réveille dans le corps de La Reine (?!!). Je dois avouer que je me suis souvent demandé, « la Reine de quoi ? » au cours de ma lecture et que je n’ai pas apprécié cette partie du roman un peu trop tirée par les cheveux, seulement les passages qui revenaient sur le meurtre de l’adolescente.

Comme toujours, l’écriture de Patrick Ness est magnifique, à la fois poétique et délicieusement cynique. Peut-être même un peu trop poétique. Bien que je parle anglais couramment, il ne s’agit pas de ma langue maternelle, et il y a des passages où je sentais bien qu’il y avait un sous-entendu ou un message caché, mais cela est très difficile de tout comprendre avec ce genre d’écriture lorsque ce n’est pas votre langue maternelle.

J’ai beaucoup aimé le personnage d’Adam que j’ai trouvé très original. Il a grandi dans une petite ville, là où les mœurs n’ont pas encore évolué et où le fait qu’il soit gay n’est pas bien accepté par tous. Surtout par sa famille très religieuse et son père pasteur qui préfère fermer les yeux et refuser de croire en l’homosexualité de son fils. La relation avec son frère est aussi très intéressante. Son grand frère croit vraiment en la religion et semble entretenir une relation un peu malsaine avec Adam, profitant du fait qu’il soit « le fils préféré » de ses parents. En revanche, leur relation de famille et la place de la religion dans ce roman sont beaucoup plus complexes qu’elles ne le paraissent. J’ai adoré Angela, la meilleure amie d’Adam, prête à le défendre envers et contre tous, et les deux garçons dans la vie d’Adam : Enzo, celui qui lui a brisé le cœur et ne le traitera jamais comme il le mérite, et Linus, fou amoureux d’Adam, qui tente tant bien que mal de recoller les morceaux cassés sans vraiment jamais retenir toute l’attention d’Adam.

J’ai trouvé toutes ces thématiques vraiment d’actualité et traitées avec une justesse infinie. En revanche, j’ai trouvé que les relations sexuelles avaient une place trop importante dans ce roman. Je trouve ça bien que le sujet du sexe soit abordé dans la littérature young-adult, mais je ne pense pas que ce soit nécessaire qu’il soit autant mentionné. Pour moi, cela n’apportait rien au roman et c’est devenu très vite répétitif. Attention, on est loin d’un roman new-adult, mais tout de même, le sexe est abordé sur au moins 50 % des pages de ce roman. Certaines scènes ou certains propos sont d’ailleurs plutôt explicites pour un roman recommandé dès 13 ans sur le site de l’éditeur. Si vous me demandiez les thématiques principales de ce roman, le sexe viendrait parmi mes premières réponses. Je pense donc qu’il faudrait penser à le préciser, les plus jeunes lecteurs peuvent être gênés par le fait qu’il s’agisse de l’un des thèmes principaux du récit. D’autant plus qu’il y a de nombreuses scènes homosexuelles, et que ce serait dommage de passer à côté du véritable message du roman en le faisant lire à un adolescent trop jeune qui pourrait être mal à l’aise. Je pense sincèrement qu’un certain degré de maturité est nécessaire pour aborder cette lecture.

J’ai beaucoup aimé le fait que le roman se déroule seulement sur une journée de la vie d’Adam. Il y a déjà tant de choses à dire sur un seul jour que je me demande comment font les auteurs qui racontent des semaines où des mois de la vie d’un personnage sur le même nombre de pages ! C’était une dynamique très originale que j’ai bien apprécié. Patrick Ness a confié avoir été inspiré par Mrs Dalloway de Virginia Wolfe et Pour toujours de Judy Blume et il a réussi à me donner envie de les découvrir également. Je ressors donc de cette lecture avec un avis mitigé, entre un récit que j’ai apprécié mais que j’ai trouvé répétitif et trop insistant sur le sujet du sexe et un autre récit que je n’ai pas du tout apprécié.

Pages : 288

Prix : 14.90 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Young-Adult, Contemporain, LGBT, Fantastique. Age 14+

Auteur : Patrick Ness

Note : 13/20

Sans titre

2 thoughts on “REVIEW – CRITIQUE: Release (Libération)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.