Review – Critique : One Last Stop

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

One Last Stop

Book description: For cynical twenty-three-year-old August, moving to NYC is supposed to prove her right: that things like magic and cinematic love stories don’t exist, and the only smart way to go through life is alone. She can’t imagine how waiting tables at a 24-hour pancake diner and moving in with too many weird roommates could possibly change that. And there’s certainly no chance of her subway commute being anything more than a daily trudge through boredom and electrical failures. But then, there’s this gorgeous girl on the train. Jane. Dazzling, charming, mysterious, impossible Jane. Jane with her rough edges and swoopy hair and soft smile, showing up in a leather jacket to save August’s day when she needed it most. August’s subway crush becomes the best part of her day, but pretty soon, she discovers there’s one big problem: Jane doesn’t just look like an old school punk rocker. She’s literally displaced in time from the 1970s, and August is going to have to use everything she tried to leave in her own past to help her. Maybe it’s time to start believing in some things, after all.

So, what did I think about this book?

It’s not going to be easy to write a review for this novel, it’s been such a long time since I’ve written one that I kind of lost the touch! To be honest, I’ve completely missed out on this novel. I started it at the beginning of April, when I was in the final stages of planning my wedding. I’d loved Red, White & Royal Blue by the same author and thought I needed something in the same vein, light, romantic, a little spicy. I also got a special Illumicrate version of this novel, which is gorgeous.

Illumicrate - Books that inspire

The first pages worked their magic: you explore New York city, a place I visited for the first time this year, and lots of places I’ve seen in person were mentioned. But very quickly, I was disappointed. I found the queer circle of friends a little too forced. The characters were too stereotypical, a bit flat, and I was so stalled in my reading that I could never remember who was who.

When August meets Jane on the subway, not only are the scenes super repetitive, but they just didn’t fit the story in my opinion. The problem is that at no point is this novel presented as a fantasy book. It’s supposed to be a contemporary novel and, unfortunately, all that time travel and fortune-telling stuff just didn’t work for me. Anyway, my wedding arrived, and I wasn’t even halfway through the novel. I decided not to take it with me on my honeymoon, and when I got back, I had a really hard time getting back into it.

The “scientific” explanation is really too far-fetched for my taste. Despite a few scenes that managed to speed up the story and the quest for August’s uncle, which for me was the most interesting part of the story, I just wasn’t hooked. I’d loved the other novel I’d read by this author so much that I wasn’t expecting to be so disappointed, but unfortunately, the magic didn’t work this time.

Pages: 432

Price: $12.15. You can buy it here.

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, New Adult, Time Travelling.

(There are a few sex scenes, which are not very explicit, but not suitable for audiences younger than 16).

Author: Casey McQuiston

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

One Last Stop

Quatrième de couverture : À vingt-trois ans, August s’installe à New York pour échapper à sa mère, avec qui elle entretient une relation compliquée. Cynique et intentionnellement solitaire, elle tombe malgré elle au beau milieu d’un véritable nid de fou : une colocation joyeuse et extravagante, où discussions et fêtes se succèdent. Mais, sceptique, elle ne se laisse pas vraiment toucher par la ville fascinante et insaisissable qu’elle découvre peu à peu. Et si ce n’était pas déjà assez déroutant, voilà que par un matin de galère, sur le chemin de la fac, elle fait la rencontre d’une certaine Jane qui n’hésite pas à la sortir d’un mauvais pas. August en reste abasourdie : qui est cette fille belle à tomber qu’elle croise et recroise sans cesse sur sa ligne de métro new-yorkais ? En tout cas, la jeune inconnue au blouson de cuir, à la fois mystérieuse et solaire, n’est pas ce qu’elle prétend… Car, là, sur le mur du légendaire diner où August joue les serveuses pour se faire un peu d’argent, le visage de Jane illumine une photo prise… dans les années 1970 ! Comment expliquer ce prodige ?

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Cela va être compliqué d’écrire un avis pour ce roman, ça fait si longtemps que j’ai un peu perdu la main ! Pour être honnête, je suis complètement passée à côté de ce roman. Je l’ai commencé début avril, quand j’étais dans la dernière ligne droite de l’organisation de mon mariage. J’avais adoré My Dear F**** Prince de la même autrice et je me suis dit qu’il me fallait quelque chose du même genre, léger, romantique, un peu spicy. J’ai également commandé ce livre avec la magnifique version Illumicrate.

Dans les premières pages, la magie a opéré : on explore New York, un lieu que j’ai visité pour la première fois cette année et plein de lieux que j’ai pu voir en personne étaient mentionnés. Mais très vite, j’ai déchanté. J’ai trouvé le cercle d’amis queer un peu trop forcé. Les personnages étaient trop stéréotypés, un peu plats, et je décrochais tellement dans ma lecture que je ne me rappelai jamais qui était qui.

Quand August rencontre Jane dans le métro, non seulement les scènes sont hyper répétitives, mais en plus, cela ne cadrait tout simplement pas avec le récit pour moi. Le problème, c’est qu’à aucun moment ce roman n’est présenté comme un livre fantastique. C’est censé être un roman contemporain et malheureusement, toute cette histoire de voyage dans le temps et de voyance, ça ne matche absolument pas pour moi. Bref, mon mariage est arrivé et je n’étais même pas rendue à la moitié du roman. J’ai décidé de ne pas l’emporter avec moi en voyage de noces et à mon retour, j’ai vraiment eu du mal à m’y remettre.

L’explication « scientifique » est vraiment trop tirée par les cheveux à mon goût. Malgré quelques scènes qui ont réussi à faire accélérer le récit et la quête de l’oncle d’August qui était pour moi le plus intéressant dans cette histoire, je n’ai juste pas accroché. J’avais tellement adoré l’autre roman que j’avais lu de cette autrice que je ne m’attendais pas à être autant déçue, mais malheureusement, la magie n’a pas opéré cette fois-ci.

Pages : 553

Prix : 17 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Contemporain, Romance, LGBT, New Adult, Voyage dans le temps.

(Présence de certaines scènes de sexe non explicites, mais non adaptées à un public de moins de 16 ans).

Auteur : Casey McQuiston

Note : 8/20

Sans titre

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.