Review – Critique : Love, Theoretically

4 étoiles très bonne lecture avis

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Love, Theoretically

Book description: The many lives of theoretical physicist Elsie Hannaway have finally caught up with her. By day, she’s an adjunct professor, toiling away at grading labs and teaching thermodynamics in the hopes of landing tenure. By other day, Elsie makes up for her non-existent paycheck by offering her services as a fake girlfriend. Honestly, it’s a pretty sweet gig—until her carefully constructed Elsie-verse comes crashing down. Because Jack Smith, the annoyingly attractive and arrogant older brother of her favorite client, turns out to be the cold-hearted experimental physicist who ruined her mentor’s career and undermined the reputation of theorists everywhere. And he’s the same Jack Smith who rules over the physics department at MIT, standing right between Elsie and her dream job. Elsie is prepared for an all-out war of scholarly sabotage but…those long, penetrating looks? Not having to be anything other than her true self when she’s with him? Will falling into an experimentalist’s orbit finally tempt her to put her most guarded theories on love into practice?

So, what did I think about this book?

This is my first Ali Hazelwood read. I would normally have read it in the original version, but there was a super-cute box in Spain, with stickers, a bookmark and even a mug in the shape of a chemistry jar with Jack and Elsie’s names on it, so I fell for this version. I found the translation very successful and the humor well conveyed. I imagine the book must be even better in English.

It’s simple: I simply adored this enemies-to-lovers relationship. I loved their little spats, all the plot twists and turns, the development of their story and the messy situations they always find themselves in without fail. On the other hand, I didn’t particularly like the sex scenes, which I didn’t find very well written, and once they became a couple, I found them a bit cheesy. But all in all, it was a great read for me, and it made me want to discover more of the author.

I liked the scientific background to the plot, which enriched the story and immersed us in this universe without being too dense or complicated to follow. So, when I went to see Oppenheimer with my husband at the cinema, I was able to play the expert with my little comments like “ah, yes, the infamous quarrel between the theorists and the experimentalists”, ” oh, I’ve just read this theory” or “ah, look, they’re talking about Caltech”. To be honest, I think he probably thinks the books I read are much more serious than they actually are!

It’s a very nice rom com overall, with good character development and I really enjoyed the build-up of tension throughout Elsie and Jack’s relationship. I had a lot of trouble with romances a few years ago, but this is largely what I’m hooked on now.

Pages: 400

Price: $12.73. You can buy it here.

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Adult.

TW: Illness, financial insecurity, sexism, gaslighting, death, explicit sexual content.

Author: Ali Hazelwood

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Love, Theoretically*

*Non disponible en français

Quatrième de couverture : Les nombreuses vies de la physicienne théorique Elsie Hannaway ont fini par la rattraper. De jour, elle est professeur adjointe, s’échinant à corriger des travaux pratiques et à enseigner la thermodynamique dans l’espoir d’être titularisée. Le reste du temps, Elsie compense son salaire inexistant en offrant ses services de fausse petite amie. Honnêtement, c’est un travail plutôt agréable, jusqu’à ce que l’univers d’Elsie, soigneusement construit, s’effondre. Car Jack Smith, le séduisant et arrogant frère aîné de son client préféré, s’avère être le physicien expérimental au cœur froid qui a ruiné la carrière de son mentor et sapé la réputation de tous les théoriciens. Et c’est ce même Jack Smith qui règne sur le département de physique du MIT, s’interposant entre Elsie et le travail de ses rêves. Elsie est préparée à une véritable guerre de sabotage scientifique, mais… ces longs regards pénétrants ? Ne pas avoir à se montrer autrement que sous son vrai jour lorsqu’elle est avec lui ? Tomber dans l’orbite d’un scientifique expérimental la poussera-t-elle enfin à mettre en pratique ses théories les plus secrètes sur l’amour ?

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Il s’agit de ma première lecture d’Ali Hazelwood. Je l’aurais normalement lue en version originale, mais il y avait une box super mignonne en Espagne, avec des stickers, un marque-page et même un mug en forme de pot de physique-chimie avec les noms de Jack et d’Elsie dessus, alors j’ai craqué pour cette version. J’ai trouvé la traduction très réussie et l’humour bien retransmis, j’imagine que le livre doit être encore mieux en anglais.

C’est simple : j’ai tout simplement adoré cette relation d’ennemis à amants. J’ai adoré leurs petites piques, tous les rebondissements de l’intrigue, le développement de leur histoire et les situations foireuses dans lesquelles ils se retrouvent toujours sans faute. En revanche, je n’ai pas spécialement aimé les scènes de sexe, que je n’ai pas trouvé très bien écrites, et une fois qu’ils se sont mis en couple, je les ai trouvés un peu niais. Mais dans l’ensemble, c’était une super lecture à mon goût et ça m’a donné envie de découvrir davantage l’autrice.

J’ai bien aimé le fond scientifique de l’intrigue, qui enrichit l’histoire et nous plonge dans cet univers sans être trop lourd ni compliqué à suivre. Du coup, quand je suis allée voir Oppenheimer avec mon mari au cinéma, ça m’a permis de jouer les expertes avec mes petits commentaires du genre « ah mais, oui, la fameuse querelle entre les théoriques et les expérimentalistes », « tiens, je viens de lire cette théorie » ou « ah, regarde, ils parlent de Caltech ». Pour être honnête, je pense qu’il pense que les livres que je lis sont bien plus sérieux qu’ils ne le sont en réalité !

C’est une très chouette comédie romantique dans l’ensemble, avec un bon développement des personnages et j’ai réellement apprécié la montée de tension tout au long de la relation entre Elsie et Jack. J’avais beaucoup de mal avec les romances il y a quelques années de cela, mais c’est en grande partie ce avec quoi j’accroche désormais.

Pages : 400

Prix : 11,53 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici (version en anglais).

Genre : Romance, Contemporain, Adulte.

TW : Maladie, insécurité financière, sexisme, manipulation, mort, contenu sexuel explicite.

Auteur : Ali Hazelwood

Note : 16/20

Sans titre

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.