REVIEW – CRITIQUE : Let the Sky Fall, 1

I’ll write first in English and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English, so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Let the Sky Fall, book 1

Book description: Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is. Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life.

So, what did I think about this book?

I bought the first book of the Sky Fall trilogy at a meet and greet with Shannon Messenger in Montreuil, thanks to Lumen Editions, quite a few years ago. I hadn’t wanted to get into the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, because the number of books scared me off a bit, and I was more attracted to the young-adult aspect of this trilogy. Unfortunately, I had the feeling it was meant for a younger audience than young-adult readers.

I hated the covers of the next two books, so I never bought them, and my motivation to read the first book plummeted! I decided to finally read it this summer in an attempt to get some of the books that have been lying around in my TBR for the longest time out of the way. Overall, I didn’t dislike the book, but I wasn’t thrilled with it either. 

In my opinion, Vane, the main character, is a bit too much of a stereotypical teenager. The same goes for his friends, who lacked so much depth that I’ve already forgotten their names. I also found a few passages a little inappropriate, even borderline sexist. I also found it hard to believe that Aura has lived alone at the back of Vane’s garden since she was 9. Some conversations seemed forced, but there were also some good plot twists

I let myself be carried along by the book, which I finished relatively quickly, but I’m not sure I want to read the sequel. I couldn’t visualize how the heroes interact with the wind, although I must say it’s quite original. I’d love to know more about the universe from which Aura and Vane come from, and in particular the Guardians, but I can’t decide whether I was convinced enough to read the other volumes. If you’ve read this saga, don’t hesitate to share your opinion with me and let me know if the sequel is worth reading! 

Pages: 432

Price: $10.29. You can buy it here.

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance. Age 12+

Author: Shannon Messenger

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

TW: Death, gore, loss, adoption, absent parents.

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Let the Sky Fall, tome 1

Quatrième de couverture : Personne ne s’explique que Vane Weston ait pu survivre, enfant, à l’ouragan qui a tué ses parents. À son réveil, étendu parmi les débris laissés par le passage de la tempête, il n’avait pas le moindre souvenir de son passé – à l’exception du beau visage d’une fillette ballotée par les vents. Malgré les années qui passent, elle rend de temps en temps visite en rêve au jeune homme, qui s’accroche à l’espoir qu’elle ne soit pas qu’un fantôme.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

J’ai acheté le premier tome de la trilogie Sky Fall à l’occasion d’une rencontre à Montreuil avec Shannon Messenger grâce aux éditions Lumen il y a désormais pas mal d’années de cela. Je n’avais pas voulu me lancer dans la saga des Gardiens des Cités Perdues car le nombre de tomes me faisait un peu peur et cette saga m’avait davantage attirée par son côté young-adult. Malheureusement, j’ai trouvé l’ensemble un peu trop jeunesse.

J’ai détesté les couvertures des deux tomes suivants, ce qui fait que je ne les ai jamais achetés et ma motivation à lire le tome 1 est descendue en flèche ! Je me suis décidée à enfin le lire cet été pour essayer de sortir les livres qui traînent depuis le plus longtemps dans ma PAL. Dans l’ensemble, le livre ne m’a pas déplu, mais il ne m’a pas emballée non plus.

À mon goût, Vane, le personnage principal, est un peu trop le cliché de l’adolescent stéréotype. De même pour ses amis, qui manquent tellement de profondeur que j’ai déjà oublié leurs noms. J’ai également trouvé quelques passages un peu déplacés, voire limite sexistes. J’ai aussi eu un peu de mal à trouver ça crédible qu’Aura vive seule au fond du jardin de Vane depuis ses 9 ans. Certaines conversations m’ont semblé forcées, mais il y a tout de même quelques bons retournements de situation.

Je me suis laissée porter par ma lecture, que j’ai terminée relativement vite, mais je ne suis pas sûre de vouloir lire la suite. Je ne suis pas parvenue à visualiser la façon dont les héros interagissent avec le vent, même si je dois dire que c’est assez original. J’aimerais bien en savoir plus sur l’univers dont Aura et Vane sont issus et notamment les Veilleurs, mais je n’arrive pas à déterminer si ma lecture m’a suffisamment convaincue pour me lancer dans les autres tomes. Si vous avez lu cette saga, n’hésitez pas à me partager votre avis et à me dire si la suite en vaut la peine !

Pages : 501

Prix : 15 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Fantastique, Young Adult, Romance. Age 12+

Auteur : Shannon Messenger

Note : 12/20

TW: Mort, gore, perte, adoption, parents absents.

Sans titre

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.