Review – Critique: Matilda

three and a half stars

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in English and then in French so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en Anglais, deuxième partie en Français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

Matilda

Book description: Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she’s just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It’ll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

So, what did I think about this book?

I read Matilda for a read-along with another blogger, Anna, who owns the blog Ma vie livresque (it’s in French). Even though this book had been on my bookshelves for years, I had always wanted to discover Roald Dahl, this beloved author of children’s books. I am glad I went on a journey with this excellent narrator I heard so much about. An intelligent book, well written, with a true morale, and a wonderful little protagonist triumphing against adults.

When the novel starts, Matilda is barely four years old but she can already read, write and count. She lives with evil and idiotic parents who don’t care about her. Seeing her read and answer like an adult gets on their nerves more than anything. Every reader will love this little girl who left me speechless, like her teacher.

I have to admit I am a bit old to fully enjoy this book, but I was convinced by the author’s style. I really liked Matilda’s development throughout the book, as well as her telekinesis gift and the way she uses it. Despite the theory evoked by her teacher regarding this gift, I developed my own theory too, if you have read the novel and if you have a theory too, please share it with me in the comments. In this novel, I really loved the chapters with Matilda’s parents, who reminded me of the Dursleys a lot, and the chapters with Miss Honey. Most of the chapters at school seemed a bit long and rather far-fetched with Miss Trunchbull, the evil headmistress, but children seem to love these chapters, and it is quite normal because the book is made for them. I absolutely loved it every time Matilda got revenge for everything she had been through! I was truly happy to see her rebel subtly, without ever being caught.

The only thing I could reproach to the novel would be the fact that her brother is nearly invisible. We don’t know if he is on his parents’ side or on his sister’s side. He is there but for no apparent reason. It’s a pity because I would have love to know more about him.

In this novel, there is more than one moral. And we learn a lot of things that are true in life, like the fact that sometimes you cannot do much when you are confronted with idiots. A book that young readers will enjoy, easy to read, and that will please older readers if you are still a child at heart.

Pages: 240

Price: $6.00. You can buy it here

Genre: Children’s book. Age 7+

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Matilda

Résumé : Avant même d’avoir cinq ans, Matilda sait lire et écrire, connaît tout Dickens, tout Hemingway, a dévoré Kipling et Steinbeck. Pourtant son existence est loin d’être facile entre une mère indifférente, passionnée de loto, abrutie par la télévision et un père d’une franche malhonnêteté. Sans oublier Mademoiselle Legourdin, la directrice de l’école, personnage redoutable qui voue à tous les enfants une haine implacable. Sous la plume tendre et acerbe de Roald Dahl, les événements vont se précipiter, étranges, terribles, hilarants…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

J’ai lu Matilda dans le cadre d’une lecture commune avec Anna du blog Ma vie livresque. Vous pouvez lire sa chronique ici. Même si ce livre traînait depuis des années dans ma bibliothèque, j’avais toujours voulu découvrir Roald Dahl, cet auteur phare de la littérature jeunesse. Je suis contente d’avoir voyagé avec cet excellent narrateur dont j’avais beaucoup entendu parler. Un livre intelligent, bien écrit, avec une véritable morale, et une superbe petite héroïne que j’ai adoré voir triompher face aux adultes.

Lorsque le roman commence, Matilda a à peine quatre ans mais sait déjà lire, écrire et compter. Elle vit avec des parents méchants, idiots, et qui n’ont rien à faire d’elle. La voir lire et répondre comme une adulte les agace plus qu’autre chose. Tous les lecteurs adoreront cette petite fille qui m’a laissée bouche bée comme elle l’a fait avec sa maîtresse.

J’avoue que je suis un peu vieille pour apprécier pleinement cette lecture, mais j’ai été séduite par la plume de l’auteur. J’ai beaucoup apprécié l’évolution de Matilda au fil de l’histoire, ainsi que l’apparition de son pouvoir de télékinésie et ce qu’elle en fait. Même si sa maîtresse évoque une théorie quant à ce pouvoir, je dois avouer que j’ai quand même développé ma propre théorie, si vous avez lu le roman et que vous avez, vous aussi, une théorie, n’hésitez pas à la partager dans les commentaires. Dans cette histoire, j’ai beaucoup aimé les chapitres avec les parents de Matilda, qui m’ont quand même beaucoup fait penser aux Dursley, et les chapitres avec Mlle Candy. La plupart des chapitres à l’école m’ont semblé un peu long et vraiment trop tirés par les cheveux avec Mlle Legourdin, la méchante directrice, mais les enfants semblent adorer ces chapitres, et c’est normal car c’est un livre qui leur est adressé. J’ai trouvé toutes les vengeances de Matilda délicieuses ! J’étais vraiment contente de la voir se rebeller tout en finesse, sans jamais se faire attraper.

Mon seul regret, c’est que l’on voit si peu son frère dans cette histoire. On ne sait pas s’il est du côté de ses parents ou de celui de sa sœur, il est au milieu de l’histoire, mais il est un peu invisible. C’est dommage, j’aurais beaucoup aimé le découvrir.

On trouve dans ce roman plusieurs morales. Et on apprend beaucoup de choses de la vie, comme le fait que parfois on ne peut pas faire grand-chose lorsque l’on est face à des imbéciles. Un livre qui ravira les petits lecteurs, facile à lire, et qui saura plaire aux plus grands si vous avez gardé une âme d’enfant.

Pages : 272

Prix : 8,20 euros.  Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.  

Genre : livre pour enfants. Age 7+

Note : 15/20

Sans titre

roald dahl

2 thoughts on “Review – Critique: Matilda

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.