REVIEW – CRITIQUE : CARAVAL, 2 (Legendary)

I’ll write first in English. and then in French It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English, so it can’t be exactly the same. This is about the second book of a series and it might contain spoilers about the previous book. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu. Article concernant une suite de saga pouvant contenir des éléments de l’intrigue du tome précédent).

ENGLISH

Caraval, book 2: Legendary

Book description: After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister Scarlett from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name. The only chance of uncovering Legend’s identity is to win Caraval, so Tella throws herself into the legendary competition once more―and into the path of the murderous heir to the throne, a doomed love story, and a web of secrets…including her sister’s. Caraval has always demanded bravery, cunning, and sacrifice. But now the game is asking for more. If Tella can’t fulfill her bargain and deliver Legend’s name, she’ll lose everything she cares about―maybe even her life. But if she wins, Legend and Caraval will be destroyed forever.

So, what did I think about this book?

When I wanted to start reading the second book in the Caraval series, I realized that my memories of the previous book were not clear enough to be able to follow the story. So, I decided to reread the first book. That was probably my favorite moment in reading Caraval. I enjoyed the first book even more than the first time I read it! This time, it became one of my favorites. I think this is amazing, as I had already read this book, but the story managed once again to captivate and surprise me. I didn’t see any of the plot twists coming, even though I already knew the plot overall, and I managed to get back into the magic of Caraval right away.

I am lucky to have an original UK copy, which means there is a surprise illustration on the book below the dust jacket. As I ordered online, I didn’t know which illustration would be on my copy. I came across the Shattered Crown and I think it’s a really pretty one.

Secret Covers Are Back » Stephanie Garber

What I enjoyed less in Legendary is that all the magic from the first book is lost. What I had enjoyed the most in the story was the fact that it was impossible to tell what was real and what wasn’t. The same doesn’t apply here. There are still a few mysteries, like the fact that we don’t know at first whether the events from this session of Caraval are real or if it’s just a game, like it always is. But we figure out the truth quickly and there isn’t so much suspense until the end of the book.

What disappointed me the most was that Scarlett wasn’t the narrator anymore and that she barely has a place in this story. I feel less empathy towards her sister Tella, the protagonist of this second book, and that kept me from bonding with her and really engage with her adventures. I also thought there was less charm in this edition of the game of Caraval, as it takes place in the capital of the empire, whereas the first book took place on a mysterious island with settings built entirely like a game board. Here, there are many streets, places, and I got kind of lost. I didn’t see a lot of magic in this setting.

Not everything about this second book was bad, of course. Overall, I had a nice time and the story was pleasant. I really enjoyed Jacks, the new “villain” who makes the plot move forward. It’s a complex and interesting character who can rival Legend, the master of Caravel. But still, this book disappointed me in comparison to the first one, that I enjoyed so much. I didn’t engage a lot with the story, I didn’t see as many plot twists as before and I didn’t like the Fates very much. These are magic characters, places and objects that appear in the story, but there are too many of them and you can end up being quite lost.

I was eager to go back to the amazing universe created by the author, but I am not a big fan of the direction this second book took. I am even more disappointed after enjoying rereading the first one so much. We also finally find out who really was Scarlett and Tella’s mom and we get answers regarding the mysteries surrounding her disappearance. The ending also unveils Legend’s identity, which surprised me, because I feel there aren’t that many mysteries left for the next book.

Pages : 512

Price: €10.59. You can buy it here.

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance. Age 12+

Author: Stephanie Garber

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Caraval, tome 2 : Legendary

Quatrième de couverture : Après avoir sauvé sa soeur, Scarlett, d’un mariage désastreux, Donatella reçoit la lettre d’un mystérieux ami avec qui elle passe un marché. Si elle lui livre le vrai nom de Légende, le maître du jeu Caraval, il l’aidera à retrouver Paloma, leur mère, qu’elles n’ont pas vue depuis huit ans. Mais si elle ne respecte pas son engagement, la jeune fille perdra tout ce qui compte pour elle, peut-être même sa vie… Quand une nouvelle édition du jeu est organisée à Valenda pour les 70 ans de l’impératrice Élantine, Donatella doit y participer pour remplir sa mission. Dès son arrivée, les ennuis commencent.
Elle devra faire preuve de ruse et de courage afin de gagner cette nouvelle partie…

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Lorsque j’ai voulu commencer le tome 2 de Caraval, je me suis rendu compte que je n’avais plus les souvenirs assez clairs depuis ma lecture du premier tome environ deux ans plus tôt pour pouvoir m’y retrouver. J’ai donc décidé de me lancer dans une relecture du premier tome. Ça a certainement été mon moment préféré de ma lecture de Caraval. J’ai encore plus apprécié ma relecture que ma première lecture ! Cette fois-ci, j’ai carrément eu un coup de cœur pour ce livre. Je trouve ça incroyable, mais malgré le fait que j’avais déjà lu ce livre, l’histoire a une nouvelle fois réussi à m’embarquer et à me surprendre. Je n’ai vu venir aucun des retournements de situation, alors que je connaissais déjà l’histoire dans ses grandes lignes, et j’ai parfaitement réussi à me replonger dans la magie de Caraval.

J’ai la chance d’avoir un des premiers tirages de la version britannique, qui réserve une illustration secrète sur le livre en dessous de la jaquette. Comme je l’ai commandé en ligne, je ne savais pas quelle illustration allait se trouver sur ma copie. Je suis tombée sur la couronne brisée et je la trouve très jolie !

Secret Covers Are Back » Stephanie Garber

Ce que j’ai moins apprécié dans Legendary, c’est que l’on perd toute la magie du premier tome. Ce que j’avais le plus aimé dans l’histoire, c’était qu’il était impossible de démêler le vrai du faux. Ici, ce n’est plus vraiment le cas. Il y a certes quelques mystères, comme le fait que l’on ne sache pas dès le début si les événements de cette édition de Caraval sont réels ou s’il s’agit d’un jeu, comme d’habitude. Mais on découvre très vite la vérité et il n’y a pas autant de suspense jusqu’à la fin.

Ce qui m’a véritablement déçue, c’est que Scarlett ne soit plus la narratrice et qu’elle apparaisse à peine dans l’histoire. J’ai beaucoup moins d’empathie pour sa sœur Tella qui est le personnage principal de ce deuxième tome et cela m’a empêchée de m’attacher à l’héroïne et de vraiment me laisser emporter par ses aventures. J’ai également trouvé que cette édition du jeu de Caraval avait moins de charme en se déroulant dans la capitale de l’empire, par rapport au premier tome qui se déroulait sur une île mystérieuse avec des décors entièrement créés comme un plateau de jeu. Ici, il y a beaucoup de rues, de lieux, et ça m’a un peu perdue, je n’ai pas vu beaucoup de magie dans ce décor.

Il n’y avait cependant pas que du mauvais dans ce tome deux. Dans l’ensemble, j’ai passé un bon moment, avec une lecture agréable, et j’ai beaucoup aimé Jacks, le nouveau « méchant » qui permet de faire avancer l’histoire. C’est un personnage complexe et vraiment intéressant qui vient rivaliser avec Légende, le maître de Caraval. Mais ce tome reste pour moi une déception par rapport au premier qui m’avait tellement plu. Je n’ai pas vraiment été emportée par l’histoire, je n’ai pas vu autant de retournements de situation qu’auparavant, et je n’ai pas beaucoup accroché aux Fatalités. Il s’agit de nombreux personnages, lieux et objets magiques qui apparaissent dans l’histoire, mais il y en a beaucoup et on ne s’y retrouve plus forcément toujours.

J’avais vraiment hâte de me replonger dans cet univers incroyable imaginée par l’autrice, mais je ne suis pas fan de la direction prise par ce deuxième tome, et la déception est d’autant plus grande que j’avais encore plus aimé ma relecture du premier tome. On découvre enfin également qui était véritablement la mère de Scarlett et Tella et on obtient des réponses sur les mystères qui entourent sa disparition. La fin du livre dévoile également l’identité de Légende, ce qui m’a un peu surprise, car j’ai l’impression qu’il ne reste plus beaucoup de mystères pour le tome suivant.

Pages : 544

Prix : 7,90 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Fantastique, Young Adult, Romance. Age 12+

Auteur : Stephanie Garber

Note : 13/20

Sans titre

1/6

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.