Review – Critique : My True Love Gave to Me – Minuit ! 12 histoires d’amour à Noël

trois étoiles et demi bonne lecture

I’ll write first in English, and then in French. It’s not a translation, I am just writing first in French and then in English so it can’t be exactly the same. (Première partie en anglais, deuxième partie en français, descendez un peu).

ENGLISH

My True Love Gave to Me

Book description: Twelve romantic holiday stories by twelve bestselling young adult authors edited by Stephanie Perkins. Whether you celebrate Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or Kwanzaa, there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

So, what did I think about this book?

I had been wanting to read this collection of Christmas short stories for a few years now. This year, I finally decided to buy it and I was very disappointed not to find anywhere the edition I wanted in hardback. That will be a lesson for me not to wait so long before buying a book from my wishlist.

I had planned to read a short story a day between December 12 and 24, a bit like an Advent calendar, but I unfortunately fell behind quickly. Finally, I only finished it at the beginning of January. Overall, I really enjoyed discovering all these stories that revolve around friendship and love during the holiday season. It’s not just about Christmas, as some of the stories are more New Year’s or Hanukkah themed.

As always, in this kind of collection, there are short stories that you will like more or less, depending on your preferences. For my part, I really liked the contemporary romances, more than the magical stories. The only story I didn’t like was the one by Laini Taylor, which I found very dark and long, without any connection with Christmas. I might have enjoyed her short story in a different setting, but I found it a bit off in this book.

I fell in love with Midnights by Rainbow Rowell. I had only read Fangirl by this author before and I loved this novella which follows a teenage girl who met her best friend at a New Year’s Eve party. We follow their evolution over the years during the countdown at the same New Year’s Eve party. I found the dialogues quite natural, and I became very attached to the characters in just a few pages. I also particularly liked Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña. It follows a young Mexican man from a modest background who cat-sits during the holidays because he can’t afford to go home. A series of events will lead him to a young lady from a different background. I found the dialogues funny and really enjoyed this story!

For the fantasy stories, like Kelly Link’s The Lady and the Fox or Jenny Han’s Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me, I found that there wasn’t enough development. In only twenty pages, it is difficult to understand a universe. It lacks explanation and gives the effect of an unfinished work, which is a bit of a shame.

Overall, I found it to be an ideal read for this time of year and I think there are several short stories that I will gladly read again in the future, like a little Christmas movie that you would watch again for a moment full of sweetness.

Pages: 336

Price: $10.99. You can buy it here.

Genre: Young Adult, Collection of short stories, Christmas. Age 13+

Author: Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de La Peña, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Laini Tayler and Kiersten White

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sans titre

FRANÇAIS

Minuit ! 12 histoires d’amour à Noël

Quatrième de couverture : La neige, les fêtes, les longues soirées d’hiver… C’est le moment de tomber amoureux !Humour, émotion, coups de foudre, étincelles… l’amour sur tous les tons par les 12 meilleurs auteurs de la littérature ado.

Qu’est-ce que j’en ai pensé ?

Cela faisait quelques années que j’avais envie de lire ce recueil de nouvelles de Noël. Cette année, je me suis enfin décidée à l’acheter et j’ai été très déçue de ne trouver nulle part l’édition que je souhaitais en hardback, ça m’apprendra à attendre si longtemps avant de commander un livre de ma wishlist.

J’avais prévu de lire une nouvelle par jour entre le 12 et le 24 décembre, un peu comme un calendrier de l’Avent mais j’ai malheureusement vite pris du retard et je ne l’ai finalement terminé que début janvier. Dans l’ensemble, j’ai beaucoup apprécié découvrir toutes ces histoires qui tournent autour de l’amitié et de l’amour pendant la période des fêtes. On n’y aborde pas seulement Noël, car certaines histoires sont plutôt sur le thème du Nouvel An ou de Hanukkah.

Comme toujours, dans ce genre de recueil, il y a des nouvelles avec lesquelles on accroche plus ou moins, selon ses préférences. Pour ma part, j’ai beaucoup aimé les romances contemporaines, plus que les histoires magiques. La seule nouvelle que je n’ai pas appréciée, ça a été celle de Laini Taylor que j’ai trouvée très sombre et longue, sans aucun rapport avec Noël. J’aurais peut-être apprécié sa nouvelle dans un autre cadre, mais je trouve que ça fait un peu tache dans ce bouquin.

J’ai eu un coup de cœur pour Trois, deux, un, de Rainbow Rowell. Je n’avais jusque-là que lu Fangirl de cette autrice et j’ai adoré cette nouvelle qui suit une adolescente qui a rencontré son meilleur ami lors d’une fête du Nouvel An. Nous suivons leur évolution au fil des années au moment du compte à rebours, toujours à la même fête du Réveillon. J’ai trouvé les dialogues tout à fait naturels et je me suis énormément attachée aux personnages en quelques pages seulement. J’ai aussi bien aimé Des anges dans la neige de Matt de la Peña. On y suit un jeune homme mexicain, d’origine modeste, faisant du cat-sitting pendant les fêtes car il n’a pas les moyens de rentrer chez lui. Une série d’événements va le mener à une rencontre avec une jeune fille d’un autre milieu. J’ai trouvé les dialogues drôles et j’ai beaucoup aimé cette histoire !

Pour les histoires fantastiques, comme La dame et le renard de Kelly Link ou Polaris, c’est là que tu me trouveras de Jenny Han, j’ai trouvé qu’il n’y avait pas assez de développement. En vingt pages seulement, il est difficile de comprendre un univers. Cela manque d’explications et donne un effet d’un travail non abouti, c’est un peu dommage.

Dans l’ensemble, j’ai trouvé que c’était une lecture idéale pour cette période de l’année et je pense qu’il y a plusieurs nouvelles que je relirai avec plaisir d’autres années, comme un petit film de Noël qu’on regarderait de nouveau pour un moment plein de douceur.

Pages : 496

Prix : 21 euros. Vous pouvez l’acheter ici.

Genre : Young-adult, Recueil de nouvelles, Noël. Âge 13+

Auteur : Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de La Peña, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins, Laini Tayler et Kiersten White

Note : 15/20

Sans titre

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.